Men finish 12th in SAC Championship

Men finish 12th in SAC Championship
Saturday, October 22, 2016 | by Tanner Swift, Athletic Communications Assistant

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Mars Hill Lions put all five runners in the top 11 to win the 2016 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Cross Country Championship in Columbia, S.C., on Saturday morning.


A push by the Lions in the third mile handed them their 19th cross country championship in 20 years, as Mars Hill had previously won 18 SAC men’s cross country championships in a row until being knocked off by Queens at last year’s championship.


Sophomore Caleb Bouwkamp led the way for Newberry finishing 51st overall with a time of 29:03.6.


Rounding out the Newberry top 5 was Charlie Cook with a time of 29:13.0, Quinn Wilson at 29:17.3, Shelton Reynolds finishing 29:36.5 and Jorge Hernandez at 30:03.2.


Also competing for Newberry was Connor Roudabush (30:41.5), Mondricous Hatton (30:41.8), Robert Stafford (30:58.1), Carlos Hernandez (31.01.7) and Taylor Dennard (31:21.2)


Mars Hill's David Jones was named the SAC Men’s Runner of the Year after completing the 8k course in 25:54.8, finishing 26 seconds ahead of the next closest runner in the competition.


The Lions finished with 30 points, ahead of runner-up Queens who finished the race with 60 points. Third-place Anderson finished the competition with 100 points. Rounding out the top half of the standings were Lincoln Memorial with 121 points, Wingate with 125 points, and Lenoir-Rhyne with 154 points.


Catawba (201), Carson-Newman (227) and Brevard (246) finished in the seventh, eight and ninth place spots. Coker (273), Tusculum (277) and Newberry (280) rounded out the final teams in the competition.


Led by David Jones, Mars Hill runners Brandon Beard, Garrett Farrimond, and James Gilreath finished in within eight seconds of each other in the fifth, sixth and seventh positions. Noah Allison was the fifth Lions’ runner coming in at 11th place.


Sean McMahon of Catawba has been awarded the 2016 SAC Elite 18 award, given to the competitor with the top cumulative GPA at each SAC Championship final site, for compiling a 3.97 GPA in Sociology.


The 2016 Men’s All-Freshman Team is as follows: Luke Horne, Anderson; Jacob Gatewood, Lincoln Memorial; Amos Korir, Carson-Newman; Anthony Raftis, Queens.


The 2016 SAC Men’s Freshman of the Year is Brooks Hovis from Anderson, while Mars Hill’s Mike Owens was given SAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year honors.


All-SAC First Team:

James Gilreath, Mars Hill

Garrett Farrimond, Mars Hill

Brandon Beard, Mars Hill

Elijah Inuwa, Queens

Jacob Black, Lenoir-Rhyne

Mason Hazel, Anderson

David Jones, Mars Hill


All-SAC Second Team:

Dalton Cox, Wingate

Ben Boerma, Anderson

Brooks Hovis, Anderson

Noah Allison, Mars Hill

Jimmy Hollingsworth, Queens

Tom Bains, Queens

Jorge Hernandez, Lincoln Memorial