September 20, 20081st2ndFinal
Lincoln Memorial123
NEWM23:44Debola Ogunseye
LMUM39:20Ian Richardson
LMUM64:35Felipe Nogueira
LMUM65:22Brito Martins
LMUMMichael Watkins90:00110
NEWMWill Dieterich90:0033
Stats at a GlanceLMUMNEWM
Shots (on Goal)9 (6) 20 (11)
Corner Kicks16
Yellow Cards34
Red Cards01
Newberry men's soccer falls in SAC home opener to Lincoln Memorial 3-1

Newberry men's soccer falls in SAC home opener to Lincoln Memorial 3-1
Saturday, September 20, 2008

NEWBERRY - The Newberry College men's soccer team (1-6-0, 1-1-0 SAC) held its South Atlantic Conference home opener today against Lincoln Memorial University (6-1-1, 2-0-0 SAC) and gained an early lead against the Railsplitters. However, Lincoln Memorial overtook Newberry in the final 50 minutes as they scored three goals to win, 3-1.

The scarlet and gray garnered a goal in the 24th minute as senior forward Debola Ogunseye (Lagos, Nigeria) dribbled through four Railsplitters' defenders and beat the goalkeeper near post to give Newberry the lead, 1-0.

Newberry would be unable to go into halftime with the lead as Ian Richardson (North Lanarkshire, Scotland) scored in the 40th minute. Richardson received a deflection off Newberry's goalkeeper Will Dieterich (Tampa, Fla.) and was then able to beat Dieterich near post to tie the game at 1-all.

The game would remain tied until the 65th minute when Lincoln Memorial was awarded a penalty kick because sophomore defender Lucas Noboa (Deltona, Fla.) committed a hand ball in the penalty area and was given a red card. Felipe Nogueira (Uberaba, Brazil) took the kick for the Railsplitters and converted, giving Lincoln Memorial the 2-1 lead.

Newberry was deflated after the penalty kick as Lincoln Memorial would score again in the 66th minute as Brito Martins (Sorocaba, Brazil) scored on a breakaway as he chipped the ball over Dieterich and into the net for the 3-1 lead.

With the loss Newberry drops to 1-1 in the SAC and Lincoln Memorial improves to 2-0.

Newberry will host Mars Hill in its next game, when the two teams square off on September 27th at 2 p.m.