Skiff named semifinalist for Division II Jack Nicklaus Award

Skiff named semifinalist for Division II Jack Nicklaus Award
Friday, April 28, 2017 | by Randall Stewart, Director of Athletic Communications

NORMAN, Okla. – Newberry golfer Spencer Skiff has been named one of 30 semifinalists for the 2017 Division II Jack Nicklaus Award presented by Barbasol.

Skiff, a first team all-South Atlantic Conference honoree, is ranked 12th nationally in the most recent Golfstat Head-to-Head Player Standings and is 19th among Division II competitors for the Golfstat Cup. He won two tournaments this season, finished inside the top 11 on seven occasions, and played 14 rounds under par this season.

Of the 30 semifinalists for the honor int he Division II ranks, four hail from South Atlantic Conference institutions. Finalists will be announced on May 18 with the Nicklaus Award recipients revealed June 1. The honor will be presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 20-23, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 3 at the storied Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus first learned the game of golf as a young boy.

Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists
Joaquin Arguelles, Dallas Baptist
Jared Baker, Midwestern State
Mario Beltran, Barry
Chandler Blanchet, West Florida
Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
John Coultas, Florida Southern
Chris Crisologo, Simon Fraser
Tom Forster, Carson-Newman
Ryan Gendron, Saint Leo
Mateo Gomez, Lynn
Greg Gonzalez, California Baptist
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Nicolas Herrera, BYU-Hawaii
Jacob Huizinga, West Florida
Forrest Knight, North Alabama
Felix Kvarnstrom, Lynn
Adam Lumley, Mars Hill
Richard Mansell, Nova Southeastern
Michal Pospisil, Lander
Colin Prater, Colorado-Colorado Springs
Spencer Skiff, Newberry
Alex Springer, Central Missouri
Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
Adam Stone, CSU East Bay
Elis Svard, CSU Monterey Bay
Shea Sylvester, Lee
Manuel Torres, Lynn
John VanDerLaan, Florida Southern
Niclas Weiland, Barry
Henry Westmoreland IV, West Florida