Campbell named SAC Men's Golfer of the Year, leads large Newberry contingent in SAC golf awards

Campbell named SAC Men's Golfer of the Year, leads large Newberry contingent in SAC golf awards
Friday, April 8, 2011 | by Lown named Scholar Athlete, McCants earns fourth straight Coach of the Year award

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Newberry College's Matthew Campbell was named the South Atlantic Conference Men's Golfer of the Year, Ben Lown was named the SAC Scholar-Athlete and head coach Brian McCants earned his fourth straight Coach of the Year honor as the No. 19 Wolves dominated the annual SAC golf awards, released Friday.

Campbell (Rome, N.Y.) is Newberry's first-ever SAC Men's Golfer of the Year, averaging 72.2 strokes per round and shooting a season-low 68 three times this season. He currently ranks second in the Newberry record books and third in the SAC record books for lowest stroke average in a season entering Monday and Tuesday's Food Lion SAC Championships in Conover, N.C. He was the champion of the Honda of Columbia Fall Classic and finished in second place in the Rutgers Invitational. Campbell was a second team all-SAC selection in 2009 and 2010, was the SAC Freshman of the Year in 2009 and was first team all-SAC Tournament in 2010.

Joining Campbell on the all-SAC first team are Ben Lown (North Augusta, S.C.), who was named the SAC Scholar Athlete, and Daniel Stanley (Inman, S.C.).

Lown earns his third career first team all-SAC honor, also having been named to the team in 2008 and 2009. He is Newberry's third all-time men's golf Scholar-Athlete, joining Jack Easterby in 2005 and Beau Osborne in 1998. Lown is a senior majoring in business administration, and has a 3.5 GPA. Last year, he was named to the Golf Coaches Association of America All-America Scholar team.

He is a three-time first-team All-Conference selection, and was the SAC Freshman of the Year in 2008. He set the conference tournament record of 8-under par that year as a freshman. During his career, he has won three tournaments, including the 2008 SAC Championship, and has helped Newberry to three consecutive NCAA Division II Super Regional Tournaments and one trip to the national championship.

Lown has participated in reading programs at a local elementary school, as well as church-sponsored program to help weatherize and repair homes. He has also volunteered with Halloween Haunted Hoops and Operation Christmas Child projects through the Newberry Student-Athlete Advisory Council.

Lown has averaged 73.0 strokes per round so far this season, completing three tournaments at even or under par. He lost a playoff to teammate Campbell to finish in second at the Honda of Columbia Fall Classic and recently tied for second at the Lander Bearcat Classic. He shot nine rounds under par this season.

Stanley earns his fourth consecutive all-conference award, as he was a first team honoree in 2009 and 2010 after being named to the 2008 second team. He was named all-region and third team All-American by the GCAA after winning the 2010 Food Lion SAC Championship.

In 2010-11, Stanley has averaged 71.1 strokes per round, with 11 rounds out of 15 at even or under par. He was the champion of the Will Wilson Southeast Regional Preview after shooting a 1-over par 211 in three rounds. He is currently on pace to break his own SAC record for lowest stroke average in a season, and is on pace to set a new SAC record for lowest career stroke average by over a stroke and a half.

McCants earns the SAC Coach of the Year award for the fourth consecutive season. He has the third-most SAC Men's Golf Coach of the Year awards in league history behind Thomas Addison of Presbyterian and Bill Morningstar of Elon with five apiece.

Under McCants' leadership in 2010-11, the Wolves have been consistently ranked in the top 20 nationally by both the coaches' poll and the GolfStat head-to-head rankings, and have set four of the top five 54-hole scores in school history this season.

Joining Campbell, Lown and Stanley on the men's golf all-conference first team are Liam Ashby and Gavin Hay from Carson-Newman.

The men's golf all-conference second team consists of Evan Kilchenstein from Catawba, Brandon Squier from Lenoir-Rhyne, Eric Kennedy and Jamie Chapman from Lincoln Memorial and Nick York from Tusculum.

Carson-Newman College's Jonathan Kim-Moss was named the men's Freshman of the Year. In his first collegiate season, Kim-Moss had a 75.7 stroke average. He shot a season-best 69 and finished 13th overall at the Bearcat Golf Classic.

The golf all-conference awards are determined by head-to-head rankings as determined by Golfstat, Inc.

The 2011 men's and women's tournament begins Monday at Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Conover, N.C. Rock Barn is home to the Greater Hickory Classic PGA Champions Tour event. The men will play on the Jones course, while the women will play the Jackson course. Tee times begin at 8 a.m. Monday's competition consists of 36 holes, with the final 18 holes on Tuesday.

2011 Men's Golf All-South Atlantic Conference

First Team
Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman
Gavin Hay, Carson-Newman
Matthew Campbell, Newberry
Ben Lown, Newberry
Daniel Stanley, Newberry

Second Team
Evan Kilchenstein, Catawba
Brandon Squier, Lenoir-Rhyne
Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial
Jamie Chapman, Lincoln Memorial
Nick York, Tusculum

Player of the Year: Matthew Campbell, Newberry

Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Kim-Moss, Carson-Newman

Coach of the Year: Brian McCants, Newberry

Scholar-Athlete: Ben Lown, Newberry