Men's golf to participate in NCAA Division II Super Regionals

Men's golf to participate in NCAA Division II Super Regionals
Sunday, April 26, 2009 | by Scarlet and gray will play May 4-6 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Florence, Ala.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - For the second consecutive season and third time in program history, the Newberry College men's golf team will participate in the NCAA Division II Super Regionals, it was announced this weekend.

Newberry, the champions of the South Atlantic Conference, will participate in the South/Southeast Super Regional at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail of The Shoals in Florence, Ala. Competition will be held Monday, May 4, through Wednesday, May 6. The Super Regional is hosted by the University of North Alabama.

The top five teams and the top two individuals not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 19-22 at Loomis Trail Golf Club in Blaine, Wash. The finals will be hosted by Western Washington University.

Newberry will be participating in what is undoubtedly the toughest of the four super regionals. The last 14 Division II national champions - and all but one of the Division II champions since 1985 - have come from schools represented in the South/Southeast Super Regional, including the University of West Florida, which won the championship last year.

Newberry is the eighth seed in the Southeast Region, which is comprised of Conference Carolinas, the Peach Belt Conference and the South Atlantic Conference. Newberry is the only SAC representative team in the field. Tusculum's Chase Carroll will play as an individual in the field. The South Region consists of teams from the Gulf South Conference and the Sunshine State Conference.

In 2008, Newberry advanced to the NCAA Division II National Tournament as the fourth team out of the Super Regional. The scarlet and gray were the first team from the South Atlantic Conference to advance to the National Tournament since Elon in 1997. The only current SAC team to advance to the Division II National Tournament was Catawba in 1995. Newberry finished 19th in its first appearance in the National Tournament.

Robert Trent Jones of the Shoals; Florence, Ala.
hosted by University of North Alabama

Southeast Region:
1. Columbus St. Univ.
2. Georgia College & St. Univ.
3. Clayton St. Univ. [Peach Belt Conference]
4. USC Aiken
5. Lander Univ.
6. Coker College
7. Barton College [Conference Carolinas]
8. NEWBERRY COLLEGE [South Atlantic Conference]
9. Belmont Abbey College
10. Armstrong Atlantic St. Univ.

1. Jordan Walor, UNC Pembroke
2. Chase Carroll, Tusculum College
3. Scott Woodard, Mount Olive College
4. Adam Sheriff, Anderson Univ.

South Region:
1. Nova Southeastern Univ. [Sunshine State Conference]
2. Florida Southern College
3. Lynn Univ.
4. Barry Univ.
5. Univ. of North Alabama [Gulf South Conference]
6. Univ. of West Florida
7. Valdosta St. Univ.
8. Arkansas Tech Univ.
9. Rollins College
10. Florida Tech

1. Cole Cisbani, St. Leo Univ.
2. Brandon Hartzell, Delta St. Univ.
3. Ryan Chitwood, Univ. of West Georgia
4. Mark McGuire, St. Leo Univ.