Brian McCants named SAC Coach of the Year for men's golf

Brian McCants named SAC Coach of the Year for men's golf
Monday, April 20, 2009 | by Newberry racks up South Atlantic Conference honors

ROCK HILL, S.C. - The South Atlantic Conference announced the end of the season awards for men's golf on Sunday with Newberry College coming away highly decorated.

The awards were presented Sunday night at the Etowah Valley County Club in Etowah, N.C., the site of the 2009 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference championship tournament.

Head coach Brian McCants received the Men's Golf Coach of the Year award for the second consecutive season. Newberry placed in the top-10 or higher in every tournament for the 2008-09 season including a tournament championship at the Honda of Columbia Classic hosted by the scarlet and gray.

McCants engineered seven top-5 finishes and a sixth place showing at the Ironwood Pirate Intercollegiate hosted by East Carolina University; a tournament for NCAA Division I teams.

Newberry boasts three all-SAC performers for the 2008-09 season. Sophomores Daniel Stanley (Inman, S.C.) and Ben Lown (North Augusta, S.C.) were named to the first team and freshman Matthew Campbell (Rome, N.Y.) earned a spot on the second team.

Campbell was honored further as the SAC's Freshman Golfer of the Year. In just his first collegiate season, Campbell racked up four top-5 finishes and a stroke average of 74.7.

With a 67 in the second round of his first ever collegiate competition, Campbell set a new school record for an 18-hole low at five under par. Just five days later at the Honda of Columbia Classic, the freshman would be named to the all-tournament team after a two round score of 144 (71-73; E) and fourth place finish.

Both Daniel Stanley and Ben Lown have put in strong sophomore seasons for Newberry in 2008-09. Stanley has three top-10 finishes and two top-5 finishes in nine tournaments this season.

Lown has two top-5 finishes including an impressive tie for fourth at the Ironwood Pirate Intercollegiate. After churning out a 68 in the second of three rounds, Lown completed play with a 215 (73-68-74; -1).

Taking home the Men's Golf Player of the Year and the SAC Scholar-Athlete award was Chase Carroll of Tusculum College. Carroll averaged 71.9 strokes this season and had seven top-5 finishes in 10 events, including individual championships at the Tusculum Fall Classic and Honda Columbia Fall Classic.


First Team
Grant Carnie, Brevard
Brad Robinson, Carson-Newman
Daniel Stanley, Newberry
Ben Lown, Newberry
Chase Carroll, Tusculum

Second Team
Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman
Eric Schmehl, Catawba
Kent George, Lenoir-Rhyne
Nate Lockey, Mars Hill
Matthew Campbell, Newberry

MEN'S GOLF COACH OF THE YEAR - Brian McCants, Newberry
MEN'S GOLF PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Chase Carroll, Tusculum
MEN'S GOLF FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Matthew Campbell, Newberry