Newberry's Ben Lown earns honorable mention to All-America team

Newberry's Ben Lown earns honorable mention to All-America team
Tuesday, June 3, 2008

NORMAN, Okla. - Newberry College men's golfer Ben Lown (North Augusta, S.C.) received an honorable mention to the Division II PING All-American team from the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) following the completion of the season.

Lown and fellow freshman Daniel Stanley (Inman, S.C.) were announced to the GCAA Division II PING All-Region team earlier in May.
With a stroke average of 72.3 through 24 rounds during the 2007-08 season, Ben Lown smashed many records this year.

Lown holds the Newberry record for the 36-hole low with a 138; a record that was broken at the Ironwood Pirate Intercollegiate in early April.

Lown was also the individual champion at the 2008 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference tournament held in Hickory, N.C. in April.
Stanley and Lown each have set and tied the school record for a low 18-hole round at 68, including Stanley having just recently shooting a 68 in the first round of the NCAA national tournament.

Newberry men's golf eagerly awaits to improve on this season's success in the 2008-09 campaign.

Division II PING All-America Teams
First Team
Jude Eustaquio, Florida Southern
Jeff Goff, USC-Aiken
Erick Justesen, CSU-Stanislaus
Tobias Rosendahl, West Florida
Kyle Scott, West Florida
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Will Wilcox, Clayton State
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State
Chris Wolfe, Armstrong Atlantic State

Second Team
Roberto Diaz, USC-Aiken
Matthew Galloway, West Florida
Andrew Georgiou, Columbus State
Justin Hueber, Indianapolis
Niclas Johansson, Georgia College
Jake Koppenberg, Western Washington
Colby Shrum, Central Oklahoma
Justin Yoder, Central Missouri

Third Team
Jack Bartlett, Henderson State
Matt Ewald, Washburn
Jeff Howard, St. Edward's
Collin Mayer, St. Edward's
Greg O'Mahony, Nova Southeastern
Sean Packer, Western Washington
Constantin Schwierz, Nova Southeastern
Peter Svajlen, Cameron

Honorable Mention
Scott Aydelotte, Lynn
Patrick Bauer, Sonoma State
Brandon Bennett, West Georgia
Juan Bialet, Georgia College
Victor Billskoog, Barry
Daniel Castleberry, Barton
Scott Crichton, Western New Mexico
Lucas Delgado, Chico State
Ryan Deutsch, Washburn
Seth Fair, Indianapolis
Max Hadenfeldt, Nebraska-Kearney
Jordan Holley, Lynn
Joe Juszczyk, Wayne State
Matt Lazzo, Washburn
Aaron Lisenbee, Missouri Western State
Ben Lown, Newberry
Brian Mackey, Dominican
Todd Napikoski, UC-Colorado Springs
Josh Orler, Grand Valley State
Greg Pool, Western New Mexico
Sam Powell, Northeastern State
Jared Schmader, Clarion
Wes Smith, North Alabama
Ryan Sperry, Grand Canyon
Matt Vela, St. Mary's
Gene Webster, CSU-San Bernardino
Cole Willis, Valdosta State
Joe Young, Georgia College