Newberry men's golf awarded the seventh seed at NCAA Southeast Regional
Friday, April 25, 2008 | by Indian golf hungry after SAC Championship

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Newberry College men’s golf team has been awarded the seventh seed at the Southeast Regional tournament as announced by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) on Friday afternoon.

The Indians automatically qualified for the Southeast Regional after winning the 2008 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference tournament in Hickory, N.C. in April. The number one seed at the Southeast Regional is the 2008 Peach Belt Conference champion University of South Carolina-Aiken Pacers.

USC-Aiken is followed by Georgia College and State University, Columbus State University (Ga.), Clayton State University (Ga.), Lander University, Armstrong Atlantic State University (Ga.), Newberry College, and Carson-Newman College.

The Southeast Regional tournament will be held May 5-7 at The Point Lake Golf Club in Belmont, N.C. and will be hosted by Atlantic Region number two seed and Conference Carolinas champion Belmont Abbey College.

The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 14-17 at the Division II Spring National Championships Festival in Houston, Texas. The finals will be hosted by Rice University and the Harris County-Houston Sports Authority.

Ten additional teams will earn berths to the finals. These teams will be determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals. For the 2008 championships, the additional super regional allotments are as follows:

Atlantic/Southeast - Three
Great Lakes/Central – One
South/South Central - Three
West/Northwest – Three

The seedings and individuals for the Atlantic/Southeast Super Regional are listed below:

The Point Lake Golf Club; Belmont, North Carolina; hosted by Belmont Abbey College.

Atlantic Region:
1. Barton College
2. Belmont Abbey College (Conference Carolinas)
3. Coker College
4. Fayetteville State University
5. Anderson University (South Carolina)
6. Mount Olive College
7. Pfeiffer University
8. Virginia State University [CIAA]

1. Iain Hall, Queens University of Charlotte
2. Brad Williams, Limestone College
3. Simon Bird, Queens University of Charlotte
4. Craig Parris, Limestone College
5. Jack McClelland, St. Andrews Presbyterian

Southeast Region:
1. University of South Carolina-Aiken (Peach Belt Conference)
2. Georgia College and State University
3. Columbus State University
4. Clayton State University
5. Lander University
6. Armstrong Atlantic State University
7. Newberry College (South Atlantic Conference)
8. Carson- Newman College

1. Chris Wynne, Tusculum College
2. Allen Tuttle, Catawba College
3. Brandon Coggins, North Greenville University
4. Chase Carroll, Tusculum College
5. Jakin Fox, Lenoir-Rhyne College