Men's Golf celebrates end-of-season banquet
Monday, April 30, 2007

PROSPERITY, S.C. - The Newberry College men's golf team gathered last week for its annual spring banquet at the Mid-Carolina Country Club.

The ceremony included speeches by each of the four seniors, Daniel Lee, Clint Martin, Hunter Mengel and Brian Rush, who spoke about their experiences in the past four years and what it meant to them. The seniors also recieved their senior medallions, sponsored by the Indian Club.

Thanks was also given to Lee Duncan, the head Professional at Mid Carolina Country Club, whose membership so graciously embraces both the men's and women's golf team each year.

Four Indian golfers received season awards at the banquet.

Hunter Mengel, a senior from Stone Mountain, Ga., was named the team's Most Valuable Player for the 2006-07 season. He earned first team all-South Atlantic Conference honors for the second consecutive season as well as becoming the first Newberry golfer in recent history to win a tournament individually by claiming top honors at the 2005 Mid-Carolina Invitational. He was named to the all-tournament team at the Billy Joe Patton Invitational last year, and broke the school's single-season stroke record at 75.0.

Michael Edwards, a junior from Taylors, earned the Most Dedicated award, while Charles Wagner, a freshman from Columbia, was named Top Newcomer for earning medalist honors at the 2006 Mid-Carolina Invitational and placing in the Top 10 at the Carolina Sands Intercollegiate.

Billy Burrows, a sophomore from Bluffton, was recognized for having 35 birdies, the most on the team in the 2006-07 season.

"Tonight is an opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of the players for the 2006-07 season and it's also an opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of our seniors," head coach Brian McCants said. "The senior class of 2007 has accomplished so much, and I am so proud of each one of them. Years from now, this senior class will be acknowleged as the roots that started everything after. I am proud of this year's winners; they are all deserving."