Men's golf makes first trip to NCAA Super Regional
Monday, April 24, 2006 | by courtesy NCAA

INDIANAPOLIS - Newberry College will send its second team and third set of representatives to the NCAA postseason in 2006.  This time, the men's golf team and head coach Brian McCants make the trip to Rocky River Golf Club in Concord, N.C., to get their shot at the NCAA Division II men's golf championship.

Lenoir-Rhyne and Newberry moved into the seventh and eighth spots in the Southeast Region with respective first and second place finishes at the 2006 Food Lion SAC Championships, unseating Tusculum and Presbyterian from the ranks of the top eight.  Six Peach Belt Conference schools, including defending national champion USC Aiken, round out the Southeast Region.

Eighty teams and fifty individuals have been selected to participate in the 2006 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships super regionals.

The super regionals will be conducted May 1-3. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution's name. The five super regional tournaments encompass the current ten regions.

The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 16-19 at The Resort at Glade Springs in Daniels, West Virginia. The finals will be hosted by Concord University and the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Three additional teams from the Atlantic/Southeast Super Regional will earn berths to the finals. The allotment was determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals.

Rocky River Golf Club at Concord; Concord, North Carolina; hosted by Pfeiffer University.

Atlantic Region:
1. Coker [Carolinas-Virginia Athletic Conference]
2. Pfeiffer
3. Belmont Abbey
4. Barton
5. Mount Olive
6. St. Andrews Presbyterian
7. Limestone
8. Fayetteville State [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]

1. Dion Sirrianni, Lees-McRae
2. Adam Sheriff, Anderson
3. Iain Hall, Queens (North Carolina)
4. Matt Short, Lees-McRae
5. Kalani Britos, Virginia State

Southeast Region:
1. South Carolina-Aiken [Peach Belt Conference]
2. Armstrong Atlantic State
3. Columbus State
4. North Carolina-Pembroke
5. GC & SU
6. South Carolina Upstate
7. Lenoir-Rhyne [South Atlantic Conference]
8. Newberry

1. Dane Fairfield, Carson-Newman
2. Richard Lowe, Catawba
3. Nick Kinzer, Tusculum
4. Chris Wynne, Tusculum
5. Ben Karns, Presbyterian

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)