Newberry earns NABC Team Academic Excellence Award for first time

Newberry earns NABC Team Academic Excellence Award for first time
Wednesday, July 27, 2016 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - For the first time in program history, the Newberry College men's basketball team has earned the Team Academic Excellence Award from the National Basketball Coaches Association, as announced Wednesday. These awards recognize outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the 2015-16 season.

Led by a program-best three NABC Honors Court members in 2015-16, the Wolves earned a team grade point average of 3.076. Newberry is one of only two South Atlantic Conference teams and three teams in South Carolina to earn the award this year (Anderson and South Carolina are the others). Only 22 Division II teams earned the award this year.

2015-16 NABC Team Academic Excellence Awards

Albion College
American University
Anderson University
Augustana University
Azusa Pacific University
Belmont University
Beloit College
Bethune-Cookman University
Bradley University
Brandeis University
Briar Cliff University
Butler University
California Maritime Academy
Caldwell University
Carleton College
Carnegie Mellon University
Castleton University
Central Michigan University
Chaminade University of Honolulu
University of Chicago
Coe College
Colorado Christian University
Colorado College
Concordia College
Concordia University (Wisc.)
Crown College
Dallas Baptist University
Denison University
University of Denver
Dominican University (Ill.)
Duke University
D’Youville College
Eastern Washington University
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Ariz.)
Emory University
Emory & Henry College
Fairmont State University
University of Findlay
Florida Southern College
Fort Lewis College
Freed-Hardeman University
Gettysburg College
Harvard University
Hendrix College
The College of the Holy Cross
Hood College
Illinois College
Illinois Wesleyan University
University of the Incarnate Word
Johns Hopkins University
Juniata College
Kenyon College
LaGrange College
Lake Forest College
Lawrence University
LeTourneau University
Lewis & Clark College
Lewis University
Lindenwood University
University of Louisville
Macalester College
Maryville University
Midland University
University of Minnesota Duluth
Missouri Baptist University
Molloy College
The College of Mount Saint Vincent
University of Nebraska Omaha
Nebraska Wesleyan University
Newberry College
University of New Mexico
North Dakota State University
Northwestern University
Northwestern State University
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma Christian University
University of the Ozarks
Pace University
Pacific Lutheran University
Penn State Behrend
Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Principia College
Quinnipiac University
Rice University
University of Rochester
Rockford University
Rollins College
Saint Xavier University
College of St. Scholastica
Salve Regina University
Sarah Lawrence College
Seton Hall University
University of South Carolina
South Dakota School of Mines
Southern Connecticut State University
Southwestern College
Southwestern University
Springfield College
Texas Lutheran University
University of Toledo
Trinity University
Utah Valley University
Vanderbilt University
Vassar College
Washington University in St. Louis 
Waynesburg University
Webster University
West Texas A&M University
Wheaton College (Ill.)
Whitworth College
Willamette University
UW-Eau Claire
UW-River Falls
UW-Stevens Point
Yale University