Trio of Wolves named to NABC Honors Court

Trio of Wolves named to NABC Honors Court
Tuesday, July 26, 2016 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) today announced the 2015-16 NABC Honors Court, recognizing those men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. Newberry College is represented on the Honors Court by James Ashby, Mason Spease and Mitch Riggs.

Ashby and Riggs are repeat honorees by the NABC, while Spease is recognized on the list for the first time. Newberry is one of four South Atlantic Conference schools with honorees this season, and the Wolves' three recognized student-athletes are the most in the league. 

Riggs was a two-time winner of the South Atlantic Conference's men's basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. He graduated in May with a degree in Physical Education/Sport Management. Ashby was recognized by his peers as one of two student speakers at the May commencement ceremony and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. Spease is a rising senior in the classroom and is majoring in Accounting.

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:
1.   Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.
2.   Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2015-16 academic year.
3.   Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.
4.   Member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.