Evans earns all-SAC honorable mention; Copeland named to all-freshman team

Evans earns all-SAC honorable mention; Copeland named to all-freshman team
Thursday, March 3, 2016 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

ROCK HILL - Newberry College's Gerald Evans and D.J. Copeland have earned postseason from the South Atlantic Conference, as announced by the league office Thursday morning.

Evans, a junior from Inglewood, Calif., earned all-South Atlantic Conference honorable mention. He ranked second in the conference in assists (132) and third in the league in steals (55). His 3.12 steals per game average earned him the South Atlantic Conference statistical championship in that category. He averaged 9.8 points and 3.1 rebounds per game.

He scored in double digits in 12 games, led by a career-high 30 points in a home win over Mars Hill. He had a double-double in the overtime win over Lenoir-Rhyne in January with 19 points and 12 assists and had 15 games with five or more assists.

Copeland, a redshirt freshman from Kannapolis, N.C., averaged 6.4 points, 2.7 rebounds and 1.7 assists per game in his first year. He had six double digit scoring games, led by 13 points on a perfect 5-of-5 shooting night in a home win over Catawba. 

The Wolves earned the fifth seed in the South Atlantic Conference Tournament and have advanced to the semifinals with Wednesday's 98-90 win at fourth-seeded Lenoir-Rhyne. 

Newberry plays top-seeded Lincoln Memorial at Furman's Timmons Arena in Greenville at 5:30 p.m. Saturday.

2015-16 All-South Atlantic Conference Men's Basketball

First Team
Keenan Palmore, Lenoir-Rhyne
Gerel Simmons, Lincoln Memorial
Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial
Rob Lewis, Queens
Charles Clark, Carson-Newman
Sean Morgan, Queens

Second Team
Jalen Steele, Lincoln Memorial
Will Perry, Lenoir-Rhyne
Isiah Cureton, Wingate
Sawyer Williams, Carson-Newman
Darius Carter, Tusculum
Jameel Taylor, Catawba

Honorable Mention
Demarcus Threatt, Brevard
Marquis Rankin, Queens
Gerald Evans, Newberry
Dorian Pinson, Lincoln Memorial
Randall Shaw, Anderson
Donte Samuels, Coker

Randall Shaw, Anderson
Mike Baez, Wingate
Zack Pangallo, Carson-Newman
D.J. Copeland, Newberry
Jeremy Bouton, Anderson

Player of the Year
Keenan Palmore, Lenoir-Rhyne

Freshman of the Year
Randall Shaw, Anderson
Coach of the Year
Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial 

Statistical Champions
Points Per Game – Keenan Palmore, Lenoir-Rhyne, 22.0
Three Pointers Per Game – Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial, 3.61
Rebounds Per Game – Keenan Palmore, Lenoir-Rhyne, 9.6
Blocked Shots Per Game – Emmanuel Terry, Lincoln Memorial, 1.88
Field Goal Percentage - Sean Morgan, Queens, 69.7
Assists Per Game – Keenan Palmore, Lenoir-Rhyne, 6.9
Assist-to-Turnover Ratio – Kendall Patterson, Tusculum, 2.21
Steals Per Game – Gerald Evans, Newberry, 2.12
Three Point Field Goal Percentage - Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial, 49.0
Free Throw Percentage – Will Perry, Lenoir-Rhyne, 89.8
Team Scoring Offense – Lincoln Memorial, 96.0
Team Steals - Newberry, 291
Team Field Goal Percentage –Carson-Newman, 52.5
Team FG Percentage Defense - Lincoln Memorial, 40.9
Team Assists – Lincoln Memorial, 481
Team Rebounding - Lincoln Memorial, 1,191
Team Blocked Shots – Wingate, 143
Team Three Point FG Percentage - Lincoln Memorial, 44.0
Team Scoring Defense – Wingate, 71.8
Team Free Throw Percentage – Lenoir-Rhyne, 73.4
Team Assist-to-Turnover Ratio - Lincoln Memorial, 1.45