Newberry's Tony Davis named second team all-South Atlantic Conference

Newberry's Tony Davis named second team all-South Atlantic Conference
Friday, March 4, 2011

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Newberry College senior forward Tony Davis has been named a second team all-South Atlantic Conference selection by the league's head coaches, it was announced today.

Davis, a native of Sarasota, Fla., had a spectacular senior season for the Wolves, leading the team in scoring and rebounding. His 15.6 points per game ranked seventh in the conference and his 8.3 rebounds was fourth-best in the league. In SAC play, Davis averaged 17.5 points per game, which ranked fifth in the league, and 9.9 rebounds per game, which was tops in the conference.

Davis grabbed a total of 225 rebounds, with 102 offensive rebounds and 123 defensive rebounds. He is just the fourth player in SAC history to have more than 100 offensive rebounds in a season, and the first since 1999. He also established a new SAC record for offensive rebounds in a single game, grabbing 13 offensive boards in an overtime win over Mars Hill, breaking the old record of nine. Davis set a new SAC record for most free throws attempted in a season with 245, and his 176 made free throws are the third most in the history of the league.

The senior recorded eight double-doubles during the season and had three games where he scored over 30 points. His 38 points in the double overtime win over Carson-Newman were the most by any Newberry player in a single game in the last 28 years. His 51.7% shooting percentage ranked ninth in the conference and his 1.74 blocked shots per game ranked third in the league.

The Wolves earned the South Atlantic Conference statistical championship for scoring offense, averaging 85.9 points per game, which ranked fifth in the nation at the end of the regular season. This is the first time Newberry has averaged over 80 points per game since 1994-95.

Newberry's 12.69 steals per game earned the team the statistical championship in that category as well. At the end of the regular season, the Wolves were ranked second in the nation in the category. Also, Newberry's 43.6 total rebounds per game was tops in the league.

Lincoln Memorial University junior forward Desmond Johnson, who helped lead the Railsplitters to the conference championship as one of the league's top scorers and rebounders was named the 2010-11 South Atlantic Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year.

Johnson ranked eighth in the league in scoring at 15.5 points per game and was second in rebounding at 8.8 boards per game. He made 63.8 percent of his field goals, also second in the league. He was a key player for the Railsplitters, who are 25-2 overall and ranked 12th nationally.

Catawba College's Keon Moore was named the Men's Freshman of the Year. Moore averaged 16.8 points, sixth-best in the conference, and made 55 3-pointers, also sixth-best in the league.

Lincoln Memorial coach Josh Schertz, who guided the Railsplitters to their first SAC championship, was named Men's Coach of the Year.

Joining Johnson on the men's All-Conference First Team are: Brandon Young, Anderson University; Josh Roper, Brevard; Dominick Reid, Catawba; D'Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial; and Odell Turner, Wingate.

The men's All-Conference Second Team consists of: Kevis Cornwell, Anderson; Sammy Emile, Mars Hill; Dion Malachi, Mars Hill; Tony Davis, Newberry; Robert Troutman, Tusculum; and Jaime Vaughn, Wingate.

Joining Moore on the men's All-Freshman Team are: Denzail Jones, Anderson; Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman; Allan Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne; and Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial.


Brandon Young, Anderson
Josh Roper, Brevard
Dominick Reid, Catawba
D'Mario Curry , Lincoln Memorial
Desmond Johnson, Lincoln Memorial
Odell Turner, Wingate

Kevis Cornwell, Anderson
Sammy Emile, Mars Hill
Dion Malachi, Mars Hill
Tony Davis, Newberry
Robert Troutman, Tusculum
Jaime Vaughn, Wingate

Denzail Jones, Anderson
Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman
Keon Moore, Catawba
Allan Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial

COACH OF THE YEAR: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Desmond Johnson, Lincoln Memorial
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Keon Moore, Catawba
SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Nick Trull, Anderson

Points Per Game - Josh Roper, Brevard, 21.2
Rebounds Per Game - Josh Jordan, Brevard, 8.9
Field Goal Percentage - Taylor Shugart, Anderson, .651
Assists Per Game - Bradley Tumer, Carson-Newman, 6.24
Steals Per Game - Josh Roper, Brevard, 2.56
3-Point Field Goal Percentage - Cam Carden, Lincoln Memorial, .453
3-Pointers Per Game - Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman, 2.81
Blocked Shots Per Game - Dion Malachi, Mars Hill, 2.88
Free Throw Percentage - Rob Troutman, Tusculum, .848
Assist-To-Turnover Ratio - Dominick Reid, Catawba, 1.67
Team Scoring Offense - Newberry College, 85.9
Team Field Goal Percentage - Lincoln Memorial University, .500
Team Field Goal Percentage Defense - Lincoln Memorial University, .387
Team Steals - Newberry College, 12.69
Team Assists - Lincoln Memorial University, 15.65
Team Rebounding - Newberry College, 43.6
Team Blocked Shots - Mars Hill College, 5.23
Team 3-Point Field Goal Percentage - Wingate University, .392
Team Scoring Defense - Tusculum College, 64.8
Team Free Throw Percentage - Tusculum College, .779
Team Assist-to-Turnover Ratio - Lincoln Memorial University, 1.00