Ryan Barnes named to SAC All-Freshman Team

Ryan Barnes named to SAC All-Freshman Team
Friday, March 5, 2010

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Newberry College's Ryan Barnes was named to the 2010 South Atlantic Conference Men's Basketball All-Freshman Team, the league office announced today.

Barnes (Oviedo, Fla.) averaged 8.7 points and 3.4 rebounds in his initial season in the scarlet and gray. He was sixth in the conference in three-pointers made, averaging two made three-pointers per game. In conference games only, he ranked in the top 25 in the league in scoring (9.9 points per game), 13th in three-point field goal percentage (36.3%) and fourth in three-pointers made (2.2 per game).

Tusculum College senior guard Kyle Moore, who led the conference in scoring at 24.9 points per game, was named the Player of the Year. Moore wins the award for the second year in a row. He helped lead the Pioneers to a tie for second place in the league standings at 10-6 and a 16-12 overall record. He led the conference for the second year in a row with 112 made 3-pointers, breaking the conference record he had previously set last year. He finishes as the SAC's all-time leader in made 3-pointers with 306. His scoring average of 24.9 points per game ranks second nationally and ranks second in SAC history.

Wingate University's Odell Turner, who averaged 11.9 points and was fifth in the league in rebounding with seven rebounds per game, was named the Men's Freshman of the Year.

Brevard College's Mike Jones, who guided the Tornados from a ninth-place finish last season to a second-place finish this year, was named the Men's Coach of the Year.

Joining Moore on the men's All-Conference First Team are: Jonathan Whitson, Brevard; Antonio Houston, Catawba; D.J. Blackmon, Lenoir-Rhyne; D'Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial; and Danny Sanders, Mars Hill.

The men's All-Conference Second Team consists of: Josh Roper, Brevard; Jordan Dixon, Carson-Newman; Rob Fields, Catawba; Donald Rutherford, Catawba; Stoney Polite, Mars Hill; and Jamie Vaughn, Wingate.

Joining Turner and Barnes on the men's All-Freshman Team are: Stephen Coles, Catawba; Paidrick Matilus, Wingate; and Quan Alexander, Wingate.


Jonathan Whitson, Brevard
Antonio Houston, Catawba
D.J. Blackmon , Lenoir-Rhyne
D'Mario Curry, Lincoln Memorial
Danny Sanders, Mars Hill
Kyle Moore, Tusculum

Josh Roper, Brevard
Jordan Dixon, Carson-Newman
Rob Fields, Catawba
Donald Rutherford, Catawba
Stoney Polite, Mars Hill
Jamie Vaughn, Wingate

Stephen Coles, Catawba
Ryan Barnes, Newberry
Quan Alexander, Wingate
Paidrick Matilus, Wingate
Odell Turner, Wingate

COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Jones, Brevard
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kyle Moore, Tusculum
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Odell Turner, Wingate
SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Jarred Pickering, Mars Hill