Wolves earn three on ECAC All-Conference teams

Wolves earn three on ECAC All-Conference teams
Thursday, November 2, 2017 | by Asha Evans, Athletic Communications Assistant

DANBURY, Conn. –Sophomore forward Brady Keeler, freshman defender Dominique Milian, and freshman midfielder Farai Kawonde were named to the 2017 Eastern College Athletic Conference Division II Field Hockey All-Conference teams.

Milian and Kawonde earned a place on the All-ECAC Second Team while Keeler nabbed a spot on the All-ECAC First Team.

Keeler leads the Wolves offensively while posting personal-bests in every offensive category to surpass her numbers from the previous season. In the conference she ranks seventh in points (totaling 21), eighth in goals (totaling eight), sixth in assists (totaling five), and eighth in game-winning goals (totaling three). This makes the second conference honor in the 2017-2018 season for Keeler, who was awarded Offensive Player of the Week during the week of Sept. 11.

Milian’s role is slightly different providing aid to the Wolves’ goalkeepers as she rounds out Newberry’s defense. The freshman has started all 18 games at the defender position and taken one shot on goal. She is ranked second in the conference for defensive saves notching three on the season.

Kawonde has started in 10 of 12 contests, scoring two goals, and taken 11 shots with six being on goal. She is a critical part in Newberry’s offense as a starter or igniter coming off the bench. In the pack, Kawonde is third in points, third in goals, and fourth in shots on goal. She sparked a two-game scoring streak against Converse, Sept. 13 and Queens, Sept. 17.

The Wolves posted a 6-12 overall record with a 3-7 conference record, obtaining the number four seed in the 2017 Eastern College Athletic Conference Division II Field Hockey Tournament. Newberry is set to face No.1 ranked Limestone in the Semifinals on Friday, Nov. 3 at 7 p.m.

A live look into the 2017 tournament can be found here.

The complete list of 2017 ECAC Field Hockey winners can be found below.

2017 ECAC DII Field Hockey League Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Kate Remley, Limestone

Defensive Player of the Year: Nicole Johnston, Lindenwood

Co-Goalkeeper of the Year: Tabria Cochran, Limestone / Skylar Starbeck, Lindenwood

Rookie of the Year: Kelly Diplock, Limestone

Coach of the Year: Sarah Johnson, Lindenwood

All-ECAC First Team

D: Cameron Felch, Limestone

D: Nicole Johnston, Lindenwood

D Caro Theunisz, Lindenwood

F: Kelly Diplock, Limestone

F: Merit Harris, Bellarmine

F: Bridget Hoogendijk, Lindenwood

F: Brady Keeler, Newberry

M: Greta Banholzer, Lindenwood

M: Cassidy Coates, Limestone

M: Elle Lichte, Bellarmine

GK: Tabria Cochran, Limestone

All-ECAC Second Team*

D: Brooke Zimmerman, Limestone

D: Rachel Gumowski, Mercy

D: Mary Ringwald, Bellarmine

D: Dominque Milian, Newberry

F: Kate Remley, Limestone

F: Renee Duffy, Lindenwood

F: Angelina Perrone, Belmont Abbey

F: Angela Robins, Mercy

M: Noor Fons, Lindenwood

M: Farai Kawonde, Newberry

M: Lillie Nitzken, Bellarmine

GK: Skylar Starbeck, Lindenwood

*additional player added due to tie in voting