Warren and Jolikko named Second Team all-ECAC

Warren and Jolikko named Second Team all-ECAC
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 | by Bryan Eckelberg, Athletic Communications Assistant

DANBURY, Conn. - Newberry College senior forward Caitlyn Warren and freshman midfielder Meghan Jolikko have been named Second Team all-ECAC, the league office announced Wednesday.

Warren led Newberry offensively after totaling six goals and one assist. She also led the Wolves with 36 shots on goal. Warren scored game-winning goals against Belmont Abbey on Sept. 14 and an overtime winner against Molloy on Oct. 1. This is Warren’s second all-ECAC award after being named Second Team all-ECAC in 2014.

Jolikko tallied a game-winning double overtime goal and an assist against Queens on Oct. 4. She appeared in 16 contests and registered eight shots on goal. 

2016 ECAC DII Field Hockey League Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Tara Robben, Lindenwood
Defensive Player of the Year: Nicole Johnston, Lindenwood
Co-Goalkeeper of the Year: Tabria Cochran, Limestone
Co-Goalkeeper of the Year: Skylar Starbeck, Lindenwood
Rookie of the Year: Kate Remley, Limestone
Coach of the Year: Sarah Johnson, Lindenwood

All-ECAC First Team

F: Tara Robben, Lindenwood
F: Kathryn Schneidtmiller, Bellarmine
F: Greta Banholzer, Lindenwood
F: Maria Patterson, Limestone
M: Kate Remley, Limestone
M: Aimee Ilgenfritz, Bellarmine
M: Caro Theunisz, Lindenwood
D: Nicole Johnston, Lindenwood
D: Kathleen Sigwart, Limestone
D: Mary Ringwald, Bellarmine
GK: Tabria Cochran, Limestone

All-ECAC Second Team*

F: Kate Norman, Limestone
F: Kelsey O’Bryan, Bellarmine
F: Marina Jozokos, Limestone
F: Caitlyn Warren, Newberry
M: Elle Lichte, Bellarmine
M: Xantha Rademeyer, Belmont Abbey
M: Meghan Jolikko, Newberry
M: Vanessa Soler, Mercy
D: Sara Wilder, Bellarmine
D: Tyla Goodsell-Matthews, Belmont Abbey
D: Veronica Bosha, Limestone
GK: Skylar Starbeck, Lindenwood

*(Additional player added due to tie in voting)