2016-17 Football
1 Wes Jordan WR
2 Nick Jones QB
3 Rashaad Smith DB
4 Will Elm OLB
5 Braxton Ivery WR
6 Jackson Swindler WR
7 Raleigh Yeldell QB
8 Joe Blue ILB
9 Holden Beemiller WR
10 Sumner Cooler QB
11 Tovaris Cureton WR
12 Mac McCurry ILB
13 Markell Castle WR
14 Manny McCord WR
15 J.T. Waters WR
16 Baptiste Staggers TE
17 Jawanza Adams DB
18 Tony Gaston DB
19 Cole Watson WR
20 Trey Gregg HB
21 Tevin Williams OLB
22 Romelo Doctor RB
23 LaQuan White DB
24 Rameak Smith OLB
25 Caleb Belton DB
26 Alonzo McGill OLB
27 Anfernee Moffett ILB
28 Kareem Auguste DB
29 Avery Shippy DB
30 Rondreas Truesdale RB
31 Marcus Brown FS
32 Jimmy Holmes DL
33 Kardeem Hines DB
34 Austin Barnes TE
35 Knox Butcher FB
36 Steven Archie RB
37 Rashard Alston FB
38 Hasani Brown DB
39 Boo Williams OLB
40 Trey Woods OLB
41 Baylen English DB
42 Jaquille Oden DL
43 Desmond Beasley-Jones OLB
44 Stan Davis DL
45 Chase Austin ILB
46 Hampton Smith OLB
47 Troy Cunningham OLB
48 Terrell Johnson DB
49 Deonte Rice DB
50 Will Holbrook ILB
51 Keiron Murphy OL
52 Dakota Mozingo OL
53 Chris Watkins ILB
54 Peyton Hite OLB
55 Darryl Foster ILB
56 Christian Tejada OL
57 Austin Anderson OL
58 Marcus Chestnut ILB
59 Malcolm Ford DB
60 Troy Cann K
61 Trevin Mingo-Watts OL
62 Daryus Gillespie DL
63 Perry Able LS
64 Cody Wadford OL
65 Andrew Sprouse DL
66 Josh Spigner DL
67 Tevin Thomas OL
68 Dylan Beauchamp OL
69 Shea Rodgers K
70 Tyler Anderson OL
71 Chris Morales OL
72 Austin Turner OL
73 Dylan Richey OL
75 Kinard Lisbon DL
76 Bobby McNeil OL
77 Sam Hall OL
78 Tyler Stasky OL
79 Travis Morgan LS
80 Keinan Lewis WR
81 Darius Clark WR
82 Raquan Brown RB
83 Dv'nn Cooks WR
84 Vidal McKnight WR
85 Elijah Jackson RB
86 Najee Bowens RB
87 Dalton Brown WR
88 Dylan Quinn FB
89 Wyatt Craig TE
90 Ty'Ran Dixon DL
91 Isaac Ferguson DL
92 Tanner Adair DL
93 Josh Parker DE
94 Terrance Salley DL
95 Antwan Martin DL
96 Terrell Owens DL
97 Tiquan Lyles DL
98 Tyler Lindsay DL
99 Jamarcus Henderson DL
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Stephen Flynn

Stephen Flynn

ALMA MATER Newberry '06

Stephen Flynn completed his eighth season as the Newberry College defensive coordinator and his 15th year as an assistant football coach at Newberry in 2017. He was elevated to Assistant Head Coach prior to the 2017 season.

Flynn's unit led the South Atlantic Conference in both sacks and tackles for loss per game, earning top-25 national rankings in both categories. The entire defense was named SAC Player of the Week after the season-ending 28-0 win over Mars Hill after limiting the nation's sixth-best passing attack to 8-for-25 through the air for 63 yards, a 5.3 passer rating, and a conference record-tying six interceptions.

The Newberry defense went 18 straight games without allowing a 250-yard passer and 17 consecutive without allowing a 100-yard receiver, a streak that began in 2016 and was active for over half of the 2017 season. Neewberry ranked second in the SAC in total defense and allowed seven points or less four times, including the shutout win over Mars Hill and a 55-7 win over Virginia University of Lynchburg in which the Dragons' only touchdown came on special teams.

Flynn's defense was a major part of Newberry's 2016 South Atlantic Conference championship season. The Wolves finished the year ranked 10th in Division II in passing defense, giving up 166.6 yards per game. Newberry also attained top-25 national rankings in passing efficiency defense (21st - 108.88), scoring defense (22nd - 20.1 points per game), total defense (23rd - 316.1 yards per game), and sacks per game (25th - 2.92).

Defensive lineman Jamarcus Henderson was named to the Football Gazette's All-America second team. Fellow lineman Jimmy Holmes and linebacker Joe Blue joined Henderson on all-region squads, while five total Wolves' defenders earned all-SAC recognition.

Newberry had a three-week stretch in 2016 in which the Wolves allowed 213, 154, and 124 yards of total offense to Brevard, Lenoir-Rhyne, and Limestone, held four opponents below 100 rushing yards, limited four teams to under 100 pass yards, and set school records with 10 sacks and 14 total tackles for loss in a 34-19 win over Carson-Newman.

Flynn was named defensive coordinator prior to the spring of 2010 after seven seasons as the outside linebackers coach. In 2009, Flynn coached converted cornerback Andre Moyd at outside linebacker, where the senior went on to all-South Atlantic Conference honors and played in both the East Coast Bowl and Cactus Bowl postseason all-star games.

Before arriving at Newberry, Flynn coached several years in the high school ranks. In 2002, he served as the Offensive Coordinator at Keenan High School. Along with his coordinating duties, he also coached the Quarterbacks, Running backs, and Defensive Secondary.

Prior to his stint at Keenan, Flynn coached five seasons from 1997 to 2001 at Lugoff-Elgin High School. Over that period of time he served as Receivers Coach, Quarterbacks Coach, and Running Backs Coach on the offensive side of the ball. His defensive duties included coaching the Secondary and Outside Linebackers.

In 1996, Flynn took on his second stint at his alma mater, Buford High School as the Quarterbacks/Running Backs Coach. He first coached at Buford on a volunteer basis in 1993, when the Yellow Jackets finished runner-up in Class A for the second consecutive season. He also volunteered with Socastee High School in 1994.

Coach Flynn played quarterback and free safety on the gridiron at Buford High School where he earned four varsity letters. He also played Free Safety at Lees-McRae College in Banner Elk, N.C. where he earned one varsity letter in 1992 under Defensive Coordinator Todd Knight.

Originally from Lancaster, S.C., Coach Flynn completed his associate’s degree from the University of South Carolina-Lancaster in 1994 and finished his undergraduate degree requirements in history at Newberry in 2006. He is married to the former Lauren Chapman. She is a Newberry native as well as a Newberry College alumnus. The couple lives in Newberry and are the proud parents of two sons, Sullivan and Graham, and a daughter, Margaret.