Five Wolves receive All-Region honors

Five Wolves receive All-Region honors
Friday, December 2, 2016 | by Randall Stewart, Director of Athletic Communications

PEMBROKE, N.C. – Five Newberry players were named All-Super Region 2 performers on Friday afternoon by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association, with three offensive and two defensive players receiving second team honors.

Newberry, which finished the season 10-2 after winning the South Atlantic Conference championship and earning the No. 2 seed in the region, tied with Tuskegee and UNC Pembroke for second with five total selections. Top-seeded North Alabama led the way with nine players honored. Newberry players represented just less than half of the 12 SAC players selected, the second-most in the region.

Raleigh Yeldell was named second team quarterback after a stellar season that saw him become Newberry's first-ever finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy, earn SAC Offensive Player of the Year honors, and win five total conference player of the week awards. He set school records with 3,087 passing yards, 3,418 yards of total offense, 260 completions, 370 attempts, and a Division II-leading 70.3 percent completion rate. He accounted for 33 total touchdowns this season and led the SAC in 11 statistical categories.

Offensive linemen Bobby McNeil and Tyler Stasky joined Yeldell on the second team offense. McNeil was a candidate for the Gene Upshaw Award, given to the best offensive or defensive lineman in Division II, and accumulated 47 pancake blocks at his left guard position. He has started 34 of Newberry's 35 games over the last three seasons. Stasky made nine starts at left tackle, compiling 25 pancake blocks and averaging a grade of 90 out of 100 matched up against most teams' top defensive end.

Jamarcus Henderson earned a second-team selection at defensive line after a breakout sophomore season. He finished second on the team with 65 tackles, including conference highs with 22.0 tackles for loss and 9.5 sacks that ranked seventh in Newberry single-season history. He had at least one tackle for loss in 10 games this season, notched six or more stops on seven occasions, and led the team with nine quarterback hurries.

Joe Blue rounded out the list of all-region selections with a second-team nod at linebacker. The SAC's third-leading tackler with 91 stops on the season, Blue notched 7.0 tackles behind the line of scrimmage with 2.0 sacks. He intercepted a pass with three pass breakups, forced a fumble, recovered another, reached double figures in tackles five times, led Newberry in tackles seven times, and finished second on three occasions this season.

Click here to view the full release from the D2CCA.


TE - Kenny Johnston, Florida Tech
OL - Stephen Evans, North Alabama
OL - George Roberts, Delta State
OL - Joe Hillin, Mars Hill
OL - Kevin Shelton, Tuskegee
OL - Brandon Kemp, Valdosta State
WR - B.J. Bunn, UNC Pembroke
WR - Ishmel Morrow, West Florida
QB - Jacob Tucker, North Alabama
RB - Chris Robinson, Delta State
RB - Blake Hayes, Wingate
RS - Philbert Martial, North Alabama
PK - Matt Davis, UNC Pembroke


DL - Whitney Richardson, Lane
DL - Ray Edwards, Wingate
DL - Darius Ellis, West Alabama
LB - Osband Thompson, Tuskegee
LB - Eddrick Harris, North Alabama
LB - Darius Wright, North Alabama
LB - Chris Stapleton, Florida Tech
S - Cedric Poole, Miles
S - Jonah McCutcheon, Tuskegee
CB - Philbert Martial, North Alabama
CB - Brian Walker, Fort Valley State
P - Michael DeStephens, Lenoir-Rhyne


TE - Leo Gilbert, Tuskegee
OL - Tyler Stasky, Newberry
OL - Bobby McNeil, Newberry
OL - Lawrence Keys, UNC Pembroke
OL - Daniel Owens, Wingate
OL - Sean Rogers, Mississippi College
WR - Donta Armstrong, West Alabama
WR - Dre Hall, North Alabama
QB - Raleigh Yeldell, Newberry
RB - George Myers, Jr., Benedict
RB - Antwuan Haynes, Florida Tech
RS - Marcel Newson, Mississippi College
PK - Kevin Henke, North Alabama


DL - E.J. Parnell, North Alabama
DL - Jamarcus Henderson, Newberry
DL - Julian Morgan, Tuskegee
LB - Garrett Barnett, UNC Pembroke
LB - Kyle Kitchens, Catawba
LB - Joe Blue, Newberry
LB - Landy Tullo, Delta State
S - Edward Kirkland, Benedict
S - Trent Archie, West Florida
CB - Kenny Moore, Valdosta State
CB - Case Woodard, Catawba
P - Matt Davis, UNC Pembroke

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jacob Tucker, North Alabama
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Osband Thompson, Tuskegee