Newberry to be honored as ECAC Division II Football Team of the Year

Newberry to be honored as ECAC Division II Football Team of the Year
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

DANBURY, Conn. - The Newberry College Wolves' football team will be honored by the Eastern College Athletic Conference as the ECAC's Division II Team of the Year at the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., on Thursday, February 25.

Newberry is one of four ECAC Teams of the Year, as Temple (Division I-FBS), Fordham (Division I-FCS) and Johns Hopkins (Division III) earned the award in the other NCAA divisions.

Newberry qualified for the NCAA Division II Playoffs for the second time in three years and third time in school history thanks to a fantastic close to the regular season. Facing a 3-4 overall record entering the final stretch of the season, the Wolves won the final four games of the regular season to charge in to the playoffs as the seventh seed from Super Region II. Newberry completed the 2015 campaign with a 7-5 overall record.

Also honored at the Eastern College Football Awards Banquet that night will be Newberry's ECAC award winners and All-Stars. This includes the ECAC Division II Offensive Player of the Year - Romelo Doctor. A junior from Summerville and Ashley Ridge HS, Doctor finished the regular season as the state of South Carolina's leading rusher, had seven games this season of over 100 yards rushing, was a finalist for the S.C. Football Hall of Fame's Collegiate Player of the Year and was an ECAC Offensive Player of the Week for his performance at Catawba. 

His 1,235 yards rushing for the season is the second-most in a season in Newberry history and he averaged 102.9 yards per game.

Other ECAC Division II All-Stars honored at the banquest for Newberry will be offensive lineman Landon Martin, defensive lineman Alstevis Squirewell, linebacker Taylor McDonnell and punter Kyle Clark.

Newberry is in its second academic year of ECAC membership.