Doctor's Offensive Player of the Year honor highlights five ECAC All-Stars for Wolves

Doctor's Offensive Player of the Year honor highlights five ECAC All-Stars for Wolves
Friday, December 18, 2015 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

DANBURY, Conn. - Newberry running back Romelo Doctor earned ECAC Division II Offensive Player of the Year honors to highlight five Wolves as ECAC Division II All-Stars, released Friday.

Doctor, a junior from Summerville and Ashley Ridge HS, finished the regular season as the state of South Carolina's leading rusher, had seven games this season of over 100 yards rushing, is a finalist for the S.C. Football Hall of Fame's Collegiate Player of the Year and was an ECAC Offensive Player of the Week for his performance at Catawba. 

His 1,235 yards rushing this year is the second-most in a season in Newberry history and he averaged 102.9 yards per game.

Doctor is joined on the All-Star team by offensive lineman Landon Martin, defensive lineman Alstevis Squirewell, linebacker Taylor McDonnell and punter Kyle Clark.

Martin, a senior from Pelzer and Palmetto HS, led one of the most balanced offenses in the region. In his senior campaign, Martin graded out at 91% and had 44 knockdown blocks. He was a first team all-South Atlantic Conference and second team D2CCA all-Super Region II honoree.

Squirewell, a senior from Great Falls, is a first team D2CCA all-Super Region II honoree and a two-time first team all-SAC honoree. He notched 50 tackles in the regular season with 4.5 sacks, 13 tackles for loss, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He also earned AstroTurf SAC Player of the Week honors for his one-handed pick six interception to seal the win over Tusculum. That performance also earned him a nomination for the SBNation Piesman Trophy - the award for linemen making non-lineman plays.

McDonnell, a senior from Bluffton, is a first team D2CCA all-Super Region II honoree and a two-time first team all-SAC honoree. He twice earned AstroTurf SAC Defensive Player of the Week honors and ranked second in the league with 58 solo tackles, fifth in the league with four sacks and led the conference with three fumble recoveries in the regular season. He had nine solo tackles, three tackles for loss and two sacks - with one for a safety - in the Wolves' playoff-clinching win at Wingate.

Clark, a senior from Beaufort, is Newberry's first-ever repeat winner of ECAC All-Star honors. He has won three straight D2CCA/Daktronics all-Super Region II honors and is a three-time first team all-South Atlantic Conference honoree. Clark led the conference in punting average for the third consecutive season, averaging 42.5 yards on 57 punts, placing 20 punts inside the opponents' 20-yardline in the regular season.

He was named the National Special Teams Player of the Week, along with AstroTurf SAC Special Teams Player of the Week, for his 45.6 yard punting average in the win over Tusculum. He had two punts over 60 yards in that game and downed four punts inside the TC 5-yardline.

Also on the list is quarterback Raleigh Yeldell who is honorably mentioned. The second team all-SAC signal caller completed 128-of-197 passes (65.0%) for 1,454 yards, 13 touchdowns and only two interceptions with 65 carries for 346 yards and six touchdowns in the regular season.

2015 ECAC Division II Football All-Stars

Romelo Doctor – Newberry, Jr., Running Back 

Connor Harris – Lindenwood, Jr., Linebacker 

Rob Nittolo – Southern Connecticut State, R.S. Fr., Quarterback 

Shaquil James – West Chester, So., Defensive Back

Bill Zwaan – West Chester


QB - Jeff Kidd – LIU Post
RB - Romelo Doctor – Newberry
RB - Elad Covaliu – Saint Anselm 
WR - Shane Hubbard – LIU Post
WR - Devante Jenkins – Southern Connecticut State
TE - Cooper Schroeder – Alderson Broaddus 
OL - Mike Sollenne – LIU Post
OL - Jarred Sylvester – Pace 
OL - Landon Martin – Newberry
OL - Doug Gilbert – West Chester
OL - Tyler Drob – West Chester

DL - Kevin Petit-Frere – LIU Post
DL - Kameron Tedder – Southern Connecticut State
DL - Alstevis Squirewell – Newberry
LB - Connor Harris – Lindenwood
LB - Kayjuan Bynum – Southern Connecticut State
LB - Taylor McDonnell- Newberry
DB - Jamir Gee – Pace
DB - Mike Zanders – Gannon
DB - Ted Patton – West Chester
DB - Michael James – Alderson Broaddus

K - Matt Klinger – Lindenwood
P - Kyle Clark – Newberry
RS - Jamir Gee – Pace

Honorable Mention
Raleigh Yeldell – Newberry, QB

Tim Brown – West Chester, TE
Phillip Moreland – Seton Hill, DB
Kevin Malone – West Chester, DB
Jordan Butler – Alderson Broaddus, P
Jarvis McClam – Seton Hill, RS
Brandon Monk – West Chester, RS