Newberry College announces six inductees to Athletic Hall of Fame's Class of 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

NEWBERRY - The Newberry College Lettermen’s Club announced today the six former student-athletes who will make up the Newberry College Athletic Hall of Fame’s Class of 2015. These six stars will be inducted to the Hall of Fame in a ceremony on Saturday, September 19.

The Class of 2015 is:

  • Angie Follweiler Smith, softball
  • Vic Gilmore, football
  • Keeno Griffin, wrestling
  • Will Newell, football
  • Cy Wainwright, wrestling
  • Mark Weeks, football

Angie Follweiler Smith

Follweiler Smith was a star softball player for the Lady Indians from 1996-99. She was the first Newberry player to earn all-South Atlantic Conference honors in softball.

She led Newberry to the 1999 South Atlantic Conference regular season championship with a 20-16 record in the circle, striking out 117 batters in 245.2 innings with a 2.45 ERA.

Over her four-year career, she hit .251 and had a .456 winning percentage. She also had an outstanding strikeout to walk ratio, punching out 412 batters and walking only 100.

Since her graduation, Follweiler Smith has taught in the Kershaw County School District, starting at North Central HS in 2000 and moving to North Central Middle School two years later. She coached high school softball for six seasons. She earned her masters in education from Francis Marion in 2006 and received the Kershaw County School District’s Golden Apple Award in 2013. She is also the PTO treasurer, a Credit Renewal Specialist, a School Improvement Council Member, the TEAM Leader for sixth grade teachers and a Certified CERRA Mentor for new teachers.

Angie and her husband Kyle live in Cassatt with their son Dylan.

Vic Gilmore

Keeno Griffin

Will Newell

Cy Wainwright

Mark Weeks