Booker, Exume and Theus named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Booker, Exume and Theus named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

IRVING, Texas - Newberry College's A.J. Booker, Ozzie Exume and Zak Theus have been named to the National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society, as announced by the NFF on Wednesday.

The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career. A total of 817 players from 278 schools qualified for membership in the society’s ninth year, setting a new record for the number of schools represented in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

The Newberry trio were all contributors to the Wolves over multiple years. Booker (Spartanburg, S.C.), Exume (Lawrenceville, Ga.) and Theus (Mauldin, S.C.) each met the requirements for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one’s last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.