Ron Parker named second team All-American by DAKTRONICS

Ron Parker named second team All-American by DAKTRONICS
Tuesday, December 14, 2010

BROOKINGS, S.D. - Newberry College senior safety Ron Parker has been named a second team All-American by Daktronics, Inc., as voted on by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), it was announced Tuesday.

Parker, a native of St. Helena Island, S.C., earns his seventh career All-American honor after earning first team all-Super Region Two laurels earlier this month. Parker, who was the 2009 South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player of the Year, led the conference in interceptions and fumble recoveries while making 59 tackles in his senior season. Parker finished the regular season ranked 14th nationally in interceptions with 0.56 per game, and was one of fewer than 20 players at all levels of collegiate football to record eight takeaways this season, snagging five interceptions and recovering three fumbles. He had a career-best 16 tackles at Mars Hill and had a defensive takeaway in six of his nine games played, including two straight games with two takeaways and three straight games with a fumble recovery, including a 72-yard fumble return for a touchdown against Catawba.

The All-America team is in its 18th year of sponsorship by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), with online nomination and the voting process powered by

2010 Daktronics Football All-America Team

Special Honors
Offensive Player of the Year - Eric Czerniewski, Central Missouri
Defensive Player of the Year - Larry Dean, Valdosta State

First Team

TE, Ryan Travis, West Liberty State
OL, Cameron Bradfield, Grand Valley State
OL, Trevis Turner, Abilene Christian
OL, Brandon Fusco, Slippery Rock
OL, Michael Tribue, Carson-Newman
OL, Kyle Thornton, North Alabama
WR, Jamorris Warren, Central Missouri
WR, Fred Williams, St. Cloud State
QB, Eric Czerniewski, Central Missouri
RB, Franklyn Quiteh, Bloomsburg
RB, Phil Milbrath, Michigan Tech
RS, Garrett Tidwell, Angelo State
PK, Gareth Rowlands, Tusculum

Second Team
TE, DeMarco Cosby, Central Missouri
OL, Orion Matthies, Nebraska-Kearney
OL, Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL, Matt Desotell, Michigan Tech
OL, Amini Silatolu, Midwestern State
OL, Harrison Lingenfelter, Nebraska-Omaha
OL, Dennis Bergland, Nebraska-Omaha
WR, Edmund Gates, Abilene Christian
WR, Deonte' Gist, Tusculum
QB, Zach Amedro, West Liberty State
RB, Isaac Odim, Minnesota-Duluth
RB, Josh Birmingham, Central Oklahoma
RS, D.J. Winfield, Minnesota-Duluth
PK, Steve Ivanisevic, Washburn

First Team

DL, Marc Schiechl, Colorado Mines
DL, Courtney Harris, North Alabama
DL, Malcolm Jenkins, Elizabeth City State
LB, Larry Dean, Valdosta State
LB, Travis Brisco, Urbana
LB, Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State
LB, Kiel Fechtelkotter, Minnesota-Duluth
S, Tillman Stevens, Eastern New Mexico
S, Jeremy Jones, Wayne State (Mich.)
CB, Stevie Harden, Valdosta State
CB, Ryan Jones, Northwest Missouri
P, George Shamblin, Angelo State

Second Team
DL, Armonty Bryant, East Central
DL, Aston Whiteside, Abilene Christian
DL, Maurice Harris, Mars Hill
LB, Tressor Baptiste, Texas A&M-Kingsville
LB, Matt Freed, East Stroudsburg
LB, Chad Kilgore, Northwest Missouri
LB, Harrison Bryant, North Alabama
S, Craig Ray, Indianapolis
S, Ron Parker, Newberry
CB, Keon Robinson, Shepherd
CB, Chad Daniel, North Alabama
P, Kevin Berg, Chadron State