Three Wolves earn DAKTRONICS All-Super Region Two honors

Three Wolves earn DAKTRONICS All-Super Region Two honors
Wednesday, December 1, 2010 | by Holmes and Parker repeat as first-teamers; Pressley named to second team

NEWBERRY, S.C. - Three Newberry College football players have been named to the 2010 DAKTRONICS All-Super Region Two football teams, which were released today. Offensive lineman Matt Holmes and safety Ron Parker earned first team all-region honors, and are now eligible for All-American honors later this month. Wide receiver David Pressley earned second team honors.

Holmes, a senior from Johnston, S.C., anchored an offensive line which allowed only 12 sacks in 365 pass dropbacks this season. The 12 sacks were the fewest allowed by a SAC team this year. This is the second straight season Holmes has earned all-region honors. He is a three-time all-SAC honoree, making the second team in 2008 and the first team in 2009 and 2010. He was a national semifinalist for the National Football Foundation's Campbell Trophy, one of only 12 Division II players to earn the honor and the only player from the SAC and Super Region Two. He was named first team all-region by Daktronics in 2009 and was named all-South Carolina by The State and the Orangeburg Touchdown Club in 2009. The Gene Upshaw Award nominee completes his Newberry career with an impressive string of 30 consecutive starts.

Parker, a senior from St. Helena Island, S.C., earns all-region first team honors for the second straight season. The six time All-American and 2009 SAC Defensive Player of the Year led the conference in interceptions and fumble recoveries while making 59 tackles in his senior season. Parker finished the regular season ranked 14th nationally in interceptions with 0.56 per game, and was one of fewer than 20 players at all levels of collegiate football to record eight takeaways this season, snagging five interceptions and recovering three fumbles. He had a career-best 16 tackles at Mars Hill and had a defensive takeaway in six of his nine games played, including two straight games with two takeaways and three straight games with a fumble recovery, including a 72-yard fumble return for a touchdown against Catawba.

Pressley, a senior from Anderson, S.C., wrapped up a stellar career with a record-breaking season, earning all-region and all-SAC honors for the first time in his career. Pressley established new school records for receptions (86 catches) and receiving yardage (1,117 yards), becoming the first Newberry player to record over 1,000 receiving yards in a season. He had 11 receiving touchdowns - the second most in a Newberry season - and 12 total touchdowns. He ranks second in Newberry history in career receptions (148 catches) and receiving touchdowns (17 receiving touchdowns) and fifth in career receiving yardage (1,860 yards). He had seven games with over 100 receiving yards this season and four games with over 150 receiving yards, including a career-high 183 yards in the season finale against Wingate. He finished the regular season leading the conference in receiving yards per game (111.7 yards), which ranked ninth nationally, and second in the league in receptions per game (8.6 catches per game), which ranked sixth nationally.

Henderson State quarterback Nick Hardesty and Valdosta State linebacker Larry Dean were named the 2010 Daktronics Super Region 2 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, as selected by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Mars Hill running back Jonas Randolph, Carson-Newman offensive lineman Michael Tribue, Newberry offensive lineman Matt Holmes, Southern Arkansas defensive lineman Cedric Thornton and Newberry safety Ron Parker repeated as first team selections from 2009, while Tusculum kicker Gareth Rowlands moved from the 2009 second team to first team honors this season. First team all-region selections are eligible for the 2010 Daktronics All-American team.

Tusculum led the region with six selections to the all-region squads, including three first teamers. Regional finalist Delta State had five selections, as did playoff participant North Alabama. Schools with three selections include regional finalist Albany State, playoff participants Valdosta State and Wingate, Henderson State, Mars Hill and Newberry.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. Voting for the all-region and All-American teams is powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

2010 DAKTRONICS All-Super Region Two Teams
Full PDF Release

Pos., Name, School, Yr.
QB, Nick Hardesty !, Henderson State, Sr.
QB, Bo Cordell, Tusculum, So.
RB, Jonas Randolph ^, Mars Hill, Jr.
RB, Kale Gelles, Harding, Jr.
OL, Chandler Rearden, Lenoir-Rhyne, Sr.
OL, Kyle Thornton, North Alabama, Sr.
OL, Michael Tribue ^, Carson-Newman, Sr.
OL, Matt Holmes ^, Newberry, Sr.
OL, Michael Mavromichalis, Albany State, Jr.
TE, Sean McGrath, Henderson State, Jr.
WR, Deonte' Gist, Tusculum, Jr.
WR, Gerald Worsham, West Alabama, Jr.
RS, Perry Floyd, Wingate, Sr.
K, Gareth Rowlands #, Tusculum, Sr.

Pos., Name, School, Yr.
DL, Courtney Harris, North Alabama, Sr.
DL, Cedric Thornton ^, Southern Arkansas, Sr.
DL, Maurice Harris, Mars Hill, Sr.
LB, Larry Dean !, Valdosta State, Sr.
LB, Harrison Bryant, North Alabama, Sr.
LB, Rudy Cabral, Mars Hill, So.
LB, Adam Deese, UNC Pembroke, Sr.
CB, Stevie Harden, Valdosta State, Sr.
CB, Chad Daniel, North Alabama, Sr.
S, Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne, Sr.
S, Ron Parker ^, Newberry , Sr.
P, Jack Fulford, Valdosta State, Jr.

Pos., Name, School, Yr.
RB, Trevar Deed, Delta State, Sr.
RB, Nate Inman, Carson-Newman, Jr.
OL, Mike Arndt, Wingate, Jr.
OL, Hannibal Ruiz, Tusculum, Sr.
OL, Phillip Yandall, Delta State, Sr.
OL, Mike Tuimavave, Henderson State, Sr.
OL, LJ Tarrant, Harding, So.
TE, Michael Rodriguez, Tusculum, Jr.
WR, David Pressley, Newberry, Sr.
WR, LJ Castile, Delta State, Sr.
RS, LJ McCray, Catawba, So.
K, Jason Fowler, Ouachita Baptist, So.

Pos., Name, School, Yr.
DL, Derrin Nettles, Morehouse, Sr.
DL, Jacob Hardwick, Albany State, Sr.
DL , Terrence Smith, Tusculum, So.
LB, Xavier Triplett, Delta State, R-Fr.
LB, Derrick Addai, Kentucky State, Sr.
LB, Greg Harmon, Wingate, Sr.
LB, Hilliard Foster, North Alabama, Sr.
CB, Prathon Wilkerson, Albany State, Sr.
CB, Jumal Rolle, Catawba, So.
S, Garrett Williams, Delta State, Sr.
S, Antonio Charles, Arkansas Tech, Sr.
P, Derek Jambon, Arkansas-Monticello, Jr.

^ - 2009 First Team selection
# - 2009 Second Team selection
! - Player of the Year