Holmes, Parker named to S.C. College Football All-State Team

Holmes, Parker named to S.C. College Football All-State Team
Wednesday, December 16, 2009 | by Pair of juniors honored by The State newspaper

COLUMBIA, S.C. - Newberry College's Matt Holmes and Ron Parker have been named to the 2009 South Carolina College Football All-State Team by The State, it was announced today.

Holmes, a junior center from Johnston, was a 2009 first team all-South Atlantic Conference honoree after earning second team all-SAC honors as a sophomore. In 2009, he earned DAKTRONICS all-Super Region 2 first team honors.

He has started 20 consecutive games at center for Newberry and graded out at 90% for the season. He had 55 pancake blocks in 10 games and allowed no sacks. The "Roach Patrol" offensive line unit allowed only 11 sacks in 337 passing attempts and ranked 22nd nationally in sacks allowed. The team averaged 30.6 pass attempts for every sack allowed and ranked second in the conference and 32nd in the nation in total offense (410.1 yards per game).

Parker, a junior safety from St. Helena Island, S.C., earned his first career All-American honor earlier this month as he was named a 2009 DAKTRONICS second team All-American. Parker is the 2009 South Atlantic Conference Defensive Player of the Year as well as a first team all-SAC honoree and DAKTRONICS first team all-Super Region 2 selection.

He was Newberry's leading tackler and had the second most tackles in the conference at 8.3 stops per game. He led the SAC in interceptions with six picks and added seven pass breakups for a total of 13 passes defended, which was second most in the SAC. He tied for 11th in Division II in interceptions and tied for 68th in Division II in tackles per game. He also forced two fumbles and made 5.5 tackles for loss and was named the SAC Defensive Player of the Week after returning an interception for game-winning touchdown at Wingate.

2009 S.C. College Football All-State Team
as named by The State

Stephen Garcia, University of South Carolina

Running Backs
C.J. Spiller, Clemson University
Will Ford, South Carolina State University

Wide Receivers
Andre Roberts, The Citadel
Tre Young, South Carolina State University
Adam Mims, Furman University

Tight End
Michael Palmer, Clemson University

Offensive Line
Johnny Culbreath, South Carolina State University
Pat Illig, Wofford College
Matt Holmes, Newberry College
Thomas Austin, Clemson University
Daniel Dehaven, The Citadel

Defensive Line
Andre Bernardi, North Greenville University
Ricky Sapp, Clemson University
Cliff Matthews, University of South Carolina
Phillip Oboh, Coastal Carolina University

Eric Norwood, University of South Carolina
Michael Thompson, Benedict College
Kadarron Anderson, Furman University
David Erby, South Carolina State University
Andrew McKain, Charleston Southern University

Defensive Backs
Ron Parker, Newberry College
DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson University
Phillip Adams, South Carolina State University
Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina University
Justin Bethel, Presbyterian College

Spencer Lanning, University of South Carolina

Chris Tommie, Wofford College

Gerald Stevenson, Charleston Southern University

Pat Riley, Benedict College

Offensive Player of the Year
C.J. Spiller, Clemson University

Defensive Player of Year
Eric Norwood, University of South Carolina

Coach of the Year
Buddy Pough, South Carolina State University