Gantt, James named Academic All-District

Gantt, James named Academic All-District
Thursday, November 5, 2009 | by Gantt earns recognition for second straight year; Both players eligible for Academic All-American ho

BRISTOL, Conn. - Newberry College football players Brandon Gantt and Lequawn James were named to the 2009 ESPN the Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-District Three College Division team, it was announced today. Both players are now eligible for Academic All-American honors, which will be announced later this month.

Brandon Gantt is a senior quarterback from Lexington, S.C., with a 3.96 grade point average while majoring in Early Childhood Education. He has won South Atlantic Conference Offensive Player of the Week honors on three occasions this season and was one of 15 Division II players named a national semifinalist for the prestigious Campbell Trophy earlier this season. Gantt was also a 2008 Academic All-District honoree and has been named to the SAC Commssioner's Honor Roll in two previous years. He is a member of the Southern Early Childhood Education Association, the Future Educators Association, the Newberry College Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Kappa Delta Pi International Honors Society, Newberry College Dean's List (2 years), the Newberry County Reading Council and is also a mentor to young students.

Lequawn James is a sophomore offensive lineman from North, S.C., with a 3.89 grade point average and is leaning towards a major that will let him pursue a career in the medical field. He has earned a starting role at right guard this season. At Newberry College, he is a member of Christians Living Among You (CLAY), Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Omicron Delta Kappa honor society and is also a Resident Housing Advisor. He was a 2009 South Atlantic Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll member.

Gantt and James are joined on the Academic All-District Three rolls by five other South Atlantic Conference players. Matt Corbin, Colin Corpe and Harrison Smith from Lenoir-Rhyne University and Austin Lowe and Ryan Webber from Wingate University are also on the Academic All-District Three team. Tusculum's John Gregory, Jarrell NeSmith and Gareth Rowlands are on the Academic All-District Four team.

District Three (college division) includes all non-NCAA Division I schools (Division II, III and NAIA) in Florida, Georgia, Virginia and North and South Carolina. Student-athletes selected for Academic All-District honors must be a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletic credentials. They must possess at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.00 scale). They must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing and must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution.

2009 ESPN the Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-District Three
Football, College Division

Matt CorbinLenoir-Rhyne Univ.Punter
Brandon GanttNewberry CollegeQuarterback
Dewey GatlingN.C. Wesleyan CollegeReceiver
Ryan WebberWingate Univ.Tight End
Harrison HudsonWashington & Lee Univ.Running Back
Jason LaytonMethodist Univ.Running Back
Greg KurkisWashington & Lee Univ.Offensive Line
Austin LoweWingate Univ.Offensive Line
Harrison SmithLenoir-Rhyne Univ.Offensive Line
Lequawn JamesNewberry CollegeOffensive Line
Colin CorpeLenoir-Rhyne Univ.Kicker
David SternlichtWashington & Lee Univ.Defensive Back
Domonique HargroveVirginia St. Univ.Defensive Back
Matt KingsburyShenandoah Univ.Defensive Back
Brian LearyMethodist Univ.Defensive Back
Josh MillerHampden-Sydney CollegeLinebacker
Gustaf CavanaughWashington & Lee Univ.Linebacker
David LoveWashington & Lee Univ.Linebacker
James PrattVirginia St. Univ.Defensive Line
Andrew GiordaniEmory & Henry CollegeDefensive Line
Daniel BeardShenandoah Univ.Defensive Line

Click here to view the entire 2009 ESPN the Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-District Three team