Five Newberry football players named to Daktronics All-Super Region 2 second team

Five Newberry football players named to Daktronics All-Super Region 2 second team
Tuesday, December 2, 2008 | by Tindal, Faustin, Harris, Newell and McIlwain earn all-region honors

NEWBERRY, S.C. - Five Newberry College football players have been named to the 2008 Daktronics All-Super Region 2 second team, which was announced today.

Wide receiver Kelton Tindal (Sumter, S.C.), offensive lineman Marchent Faustin (Summerville, S.C.), defensive lineman David Harris (Ninety Six, S.C.), linebacker Will Newell (Irmo, S.C.) and cornerback Kamaal McIlwain (Fort Mill, S.C.) all earned second team all-region honors.

Tindal finished his junior campaign with 39 receptions for 745 yards and six touchdowns. He averaged 19.1 yard per catch and 74.5 yards per game. His 745 yards is the seventh best receiving year in Newberry history. He now has 1,461 career receiving yards, which places him sixth all-time for the scarlet and gray.

Faustin capped his career with his third straight season in which he earned an all-SAC honor. He finished his career with a total of 41 starts, including the last 37 consecutive games.

Harris wrapped up his collegiate career with his first all-SAC honor. The senior defensive lineman made 34 total tackles, including 5.5 tackles for a loss and three sacks. He also recovered two fumbles with 63 return yards, including a 45-yard fumble return for a touchdown in his final game last weekend at Brevard.

Newell, a senior linebacker from Irmo, S.C., led Newberry in tackles for the third consecutive season, and finished his collegiate career with 338 total tackles, which is the fifth most in Newberry College history. He finished the 2008 season with 91 total tackles for an average of 9.1 stops per game. He recorded six tackles for loss and two sacks and forced two fumbles. He also registered five quarterback hurries, broke up three passes and snagged his first career interception on Homecoming night against Catawba. He was a defensive captain this season as the scarlet and gray claimed their second SAC Championship in the last three seasons.

Newell is only the second Newberry player to earn SAC Defensive Player of the Year honors, and the first since Charlie Coles in 1978, which was the league's fourth season of existence.

McIlwain, a sophomore from Fort Mill, had one of the more eye-catching breakout seasons in recent memory by any SAC player. After making 21 tackles in 2007, McIlwain followed that up with 30 tackles in his sophomore campaing. He also recorded a solo sack from his cornerback position. He led the Newberry squad with three interceptions and eight pass breakups, for a total of 11 passes defended. He also snagged two fumble recoveries, and blacked two kicks - both of which came in the win over Catawba on Homecoming. He earned one Special Teams Player of the Week honor as well as one Defensive Player of the Week honor.

Tusculum College senior quarterback Corey Russell and Delta State University junior linebacker Lardester Hicks-Green were named the 2008 Daktronics Super Region 2 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, as selected by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Morehouse senior linebacker Jeffrey Cargile and Valdosta State safety Sherard Reynolds repeated as first team all-region selections this year, while Hicks-Green and North Alabama junior linebacker Mike Johnson moved up from the second team this season. Reynolds earned first team all-region honors for the third consecutive season.

First team all-region selections are eligible for the 2008 Daktronics All-American team. National semifinalist North Alabama led the way with nine total selections, including six first-teamers.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.

Click here to view the entire 2008 Daktronics all-Super Region 2 football teams