Newberry County Touchdown Club awards end of season awards to four Newberry athletes

Newberry County Touchdown Club awards end of season awards to four Newberry athletes
Tuesday, November 25, 2008 | by David Harris, Kamaal McIlwain, Will Newell and Kelton Tindal all honored

NEWBERRY, S.C. - David Harris (Ninety Six, S.C.), Kamaal McIlwain (Fort Mill, S.C.), Will Newell (Irmo, S.C.) and Kelton Tindal (Sumter, S.C.) were honored for their outstanding seasons by the Newberry County Touchdown Club on Monday night.

Harris, a senior defensive end, received the Leadership Award for his leadership on and off the field as well as his play on the field. Harris was also selected as a First Team member of the all-South Atlantic Conference Team. In the season finale against Brevard, Harris recovered a fumble and returned it 45 yards for a touchdown to seal a share of the SAC championship.

McIlwain, a sophomore, was awarded the Special Teams Player of the Year for his outstanding season performing at several positions which included punt coverage, kickoff returns and cornerback. McIlwain was also selected to the all-SAC First Team. He recorded three interceptions, eight pass breakups, eleven passes defended and recovered two fumbles and returned one of them for a touchdown against Wingate University.

The Defensive Player of the Year award went to senior linebacker Newell. Newell lead the scarlet and gray defense with 91 tackles and also had an interception on the season. A three-time SAC Defensive Player of the Week, Newell was also tabbed as the SAC Defensive Player of the Year.

Junior wide receiver, Tindal, was awarded with the Offensive Player of the Year award by the Touchdown Club. Tindal had eight total touchdowns on the season with six receiving and two rushing scores. He also racked up 859 all-purpose yards to go along with his eight scores. Tindal was tabbed as a all-SAC First Team member by the conference coaches.

The Newberry County Touchdown Club was formed in 1999 and has about 75 members. Featured speakers over the years have included Rich Rodriguez (Michigan), Bobby Johnnson (Vanderbilt) and Rick Stockstill (Middle Tennessee). Last night's speaker was ACC official and Wingate University president Dr. Jerry E. McGee.
For more information on future Touchdown Club meetings, contact Matt DeWitt ( or any other Touchdown Club board member.