Eight Indians named to All-SAC Football teams
Monday, November 12, 2007 | by Benedict, Haynes, Patton and Thompson earn first team honors

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Eight Newberry College football players have been named to the 2007 All-South Atlantic Conference squads, the league office announced today.

Heath Benedict (Greer, S.C.) received the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second consecutive season, and earned first team all-SAC for the third year. Benedict is only the third two-time winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, and only the fourth SAC player to be invited to the Senior Bowl.

Alex Haynes (Summerville, S.C.) earned first team all-SAC laurels for the second consecutive season after earning the league's statistical championship in rushing yards per game (113.2) and all-purpose yards per game (129.4). Haynes finished the season with 1,019 rushing yards, his second straight year over 1,000 rushing yards.

Sophomore Antonio Patton (Woodruff, S.C.) earned first team all-SAC honors as a return specialist in his first season at Newberry. He was the conference's statistical champion in punt return yardage, with 12.5 yards per return. He had a 61-yard punt return for a touchdown against Chowan, as well as a 73-yard kickoff return for a score against West Georgia.

Temarcus Thompson (Greenville, S.C.) tied for the league lead in interceptions with four picks this year. He also had seven pass breakups and 28 tackles to earn first team all-conference honors.

Wide receiver David Smith (Union, S.C.) earned second team all-SAC honors with 28 receptions for 353 yards and four touchdowns in his first season at Newberry. Jonathan Dailey (Clinton, S.C.) also made the second team on the offensive line, starting all 11 games this season.

Tony Ransom (Marion, S.C.) is on the second team defensive line, having made 51 tackles, 15 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks this season.  Derrell Mills (Gray Court, S.C.) also earned second team honors as a defensive back with 42 tackles, two interceptions and three pass breakups from his safety position.

Newberry finished the season with an overall record of 9-2 and was third in the conference with a 4-2 record.

South Atlantic Conference football co-champions Carson-Newman College and Catawba College led the way with 13 selections each on the 2007 SAC All-Conference Football Team.

Catawba senior quarterback Brad Roach, who threw for 2,704 yards and 24 touchdowns, was named the Offensive Player of the Year.

Carson-Newman senior linebacker Eric Rice, who was the leading tackler on an Eagle team that led the league in rush defense, was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Catawba coach Chip Hester, who guided the Indians to the league championship and a berth into the NCAA Division II playoffs, was named Coach of the Year.

Wingate University freshman running back Nelson Woods, who rushed for 1,174 yards and 11 touchdowns in his rookie season, was named Offensive Freshman of the Year.

Carson-Newman freshman defensive back Revel Coffey, who had three interceptions and five pass break-ups and 38 tackles, was named Defensive Freshman of the Year.

Newberry College senior offensive lineman Heath Benedict received the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second year in a row.

Tusculum College sophomore tight end Jarrell NeSmith, who has a 4.0 GPA as a pre-medicine major, was named Football Scholar Athlete.

The head coaches in the conference select the All-Conference teams.
Information courtesy of the South Atlantic Conference

2007 All-South Atlantic Conference Football

First Team
QB - Brad Roach, Catawba AND
Alex Good, Carson-Newman (TIE)
RB - Kory Fisher, Catawba
RB - Alex Haynes, Newberry
RB - George Washington, Mars Hill
WR - Ryan Tallent, Tusculum
WR - Brent Johnson, Catawba
WR - Reggie Hubbard, Carson-Newman
TE - Chris Conklin, Wingate
OL - Heath Benedict, Newberry
OL - Matt Tyrell, Carson-Newman
OL - Ross Shaffer, Carson-Newman
OL - Terrence Crosby, Catawba
OL - Bentley Rogers, Mars Hill
RS - Antonio Patton, Newberry
PK - Andrew Coln, Lenoir-Rhyne

First Team
DL - Kenwin Cummings, Wingate
DL - Adrian Samples, Tusculum
DL - Ron Ellington, Catawba
DL - Darius Wrentz, Carson-Newman
LB - Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
LB - Justin Scott, Tusculum
LB - Brian Brown, Carson-Newman
LB - Nathaniel Smith, Mars Hill
DB - Jeremy Thompson, Tusculum
DB - Rashawn Champion, Mars Hill
DB - Temarcus Thompson, Newberry
DB - Denares Waites, Carson-Newman
P - Chris Jones, Carson-Newman
LS - Robbie Kelly, Tusculum

Second Team

RB - Buck Wakefield, Carson-Newman
RB - Nelson Woods, Wingate
RB - George Bell, Catawba
WR - David Smith, Newberry
WR - Demario Zachery, Mars Hill
WR - Shawn Barrett, Wingate
TE - Shane Timmons, Catawba
OL - Matt Lawrie, Tusculum
OL - Cam LeGrand, Wingate
OL - Hunter Carnes, Catawba
OL - Greg Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL - Jonathan Dailey, Newberry
RS - Travis Landrum, Catawba
PK - Aubrey Ingham, Carson-Newman

Second Team

DL -Anthony Toribio, Carson-Newman
DL - Tony Ransom, Newberry
DL - Charles Chavous, Mars Hill
DL - M elquan Fair, Catawba
LB - Jarvis Littlejohn, Tusculum
LB - Charles McAfee, Catawba
LB - Tyler Johnson, Wingate
LB - Joe Brown, Catawba
DB - Derrell Mills, Newberry
DB - Jasmon Carpenter, Catawba
DB - Otis Ballard, Carson-Newman
DB - Barry Tate, Lenoir-Rhyne
P - John Gregory, Tusculum
LS - Jordon Simmons, Lenoir-Rhyne

Offensive Freshman Of The Year: Nelson Woods, Wingate
Defensive Freshman Of The Year: Revel Coffey, Carson-Newman
Offensive Player Of The Year: Brad Roach, Catawba
Defensive Player Of The Year: Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
Coach Of The Year: Chip Hester, Catawba
Jacobs Blocking Trophy Award: Heath Benedict, Newberry
SAC Scholar Athlete: Jarrell Smith, Tusculum

Statistical Champions

Rushing per game - Alex Haynes, Newberry, 113.2
Passing Avg. per game - Corey Russell, Tusculum, 256.1
Total Offense per game - Corey Russell, Tusculum, 285.5
Receptions per game - Ryan Tallent, Tusculum, 5.90
Receiving yards per game - Brent Johnson, Catawba, 74.2
All-Purpose yards per game - Alex Haynes, Newberry, 129.4
Interceptions per game - Rashawn Champion, Mars Hill, 0.40; Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne, 0.40; Temarcus Thompson, Newberry, 0.40
Pass Efficiency - Alex Rouse, Carson-Newman, 205.7
Punt Return Avg. - Antonio Patton, Newberry, 12.5
Kick Return Avg. - Travis Landrum, Catawba, 29.7
Punting Avg. - Chris Jones, Carson-Newman, 41.4
Scoring Avg. (TDs) - George Bell, Catawba, 10.0
Scoring Avg. (Kick) - Aubrey Ingham, Carson-Newman, 7.8
Field Goal Pct. - Andrew Coln, Lenoir-Rhyne, 72.2
Tackles per game - Tyler Johnson, Wingate, 8.8
Sacks per game - Kenwin Cummings, Wingate, 0.82; Darius Wrentz, Carson-Newman, 0.82
Tackles for loss per game - Kenwin Cummings, Wingate, 1.64

Scoring offense - Carson-Newman, 48.8
Scoring defense - Newberry, 16.4
Passing offense - Tusculum, 278.4
Passing defense - Newberry, 139.2
Rushing offense - Carson-Newman, 308.3
Rushing defense - Carson-Newman, 93.6
Total offense - Carson-Newman, 491.8
Total defense - Newberry, 281.2