Indians, Benedict honored in Lindy's College Football Preview
Friday, June 8, 2007 | by Offensive lineman earns first preseason All-American honor

NEWBERRY, S.C. - The Newberry College football team has earned its first preseason national ranking since joining the NCAA, as the Indians are ranked No. 17 in NCAA Division II in the recently released Lindy's College Football Preview. Also, senior offensive lineman Heath Benedict has been named a preseason first team All-American by the publication.

Newberry is the fourth-highest ranked team in the Southeast Region, following Delta State University (No. 7), Valdosta State University (No. 8) and University of North Alabama (No. 16). Other Southeast Region teams in the Top 25 include Arkansas Tech University (No. 21), Henderson State University (No. 23) and Elizabeth City State University (No. 25).

The Indians are the only South Atlantic Conference team in the Lindy's Top 25.

Heath Benedict, a senior offensive lineman from Greer, S.C., was the 2006 winner of the South Atlantic Conference's Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which is awarded to the league's best offensive lineman. A three-year starter, Benedict was a first team all-Southeast Region selection by three separate publications, while earning one first team All-American selection.

The Indians begin the defense of their first-ever South Atlantic Conference championship on September 1, as Newberry hosts Chowan College.

The Lindy's College Football Preview preseason Top 25 and All-Division II squad follow:

Lindy's NCAA Division II Top 25:
1. Grand Valley State University (Mich.)
2. Northwest Missouri State University
3. Chadron State University(Neb.)
4. University of North Dakota
5. Bloomsburg University (Pa.)
6. University of Nebraska-Omaha
7. Delta State University (Miss.)
8. Valdosta State University (Ga.)
9. University of South Dakota
10. Indiana University (Pa.)
11. West Chester University (Pa.)
12. Midwestern State University (Texas)
13. Bemidji State University (Minn.)
14. Shepherd University (W. Va.)
15. Pittsburg State University (Kan.)
16. University of North Alabama
17. Newberry College (S.C.)
18. Ferris State University (Mich.)
19. West Texas A&M University
20. Northwood University (Mich.)
21. Arkansas Tech University
22. Abilene Christian University (Texas)
23. Henderson State University (Ark.)
24. Tiffin University (Ohio)
25. Elizabeth City State University (N.C.)

Lindy's 2007 Preseason All-Division II Team:
1st Team Offense
QB-Willie Copeland, Sr., Valdosta State University
RB-Xavier Omon, Sr., Northwest Missouri State University
RB-Danny Woodhead, Sr., Chadron State University
WR-Weston Dressler, Sr., University of North Dakota
WR-Michael Washington, Jr., West Chester University
TE-Mike Peterson, Sr., Northwest Missouri State University
OL-Brandon Barnes, Sr., Grand Valley State University
OL-Heath Benedict, Sr., Newberry College
OL-Mackenzy Bernadeau, Sr., Bentley College
OL-Tim McCutcheon, Sr., California University (Pa.)
AP-Ashton Gronewold, Sr., University of Missouri-Rolla
K-David Chudzinski, Sr., Wayne State University (Mich.)

1st Team Defense
DL-Andre Bernardi, Jr., North Greenville
DL-Kevin Dixon, Jr., West Liberty State College
DL-Ron Ellington, Sr., Catawba College
DL-Alex Hall, Sr., St. Augustine's College
LB-Anthony Adams, Sr., Grand Valley State University
LB-Scott Hayden, Jr., Merrimack College
LB-Cody Stutts, Sr., Abilene Christian University
DB-Brandon Carr, Sr., Grand Valley State University
DB-Sevohn Greer, Sr., Harding University
DB-Divon Hughes, Jr., Henderson State University
DB-Josh Jones, Jr., University of Minnesota-Moorhead
P-Jason Davis, Sr., Western State College

2nd Team Offense
QB-Dan Latorre, Soph., Bloomsburg University
RB-Joique Bell, Soph., Wayne State University (Mich.)
RB-Ryan Chappell, Soph., University of North Dakota
WR-Brahin Bilal, Sr., Bloomsburg University
WR-Jeremy Ricks, Sr., Delta State University
TE-Kyle Witucki, Sr., Edinboro University
OL-Chance Galey, Jr., Chadron State University
OL-Reid Kirby, Sr., Northwest Missouri State University
OL-Christian Morton, Sr., University of South Dakota
OL-Ryan Pope, Sr., Shepherd University
OL-Brian Troen, Jr., University of North Dakota
AP-Matt Moore, Jr., North Greenville University
K-Sean Sehnem, Jr., Western New Mexico University

2nd Team Defense
DL-Maurice Baker, Sr., Long Island University-C.W. Post
DL-Joe Crawford, Jr., Tiffin University
DL-Michael Speigelberg, Jr., Shepherd University
DL-Jake Visser, Jr., Ferris State University
LB-Lewis Corum, Jr., Shepherd University
LB-Jared Erspamer, Sr., Northwest Missouri State University
LB-Michael Eubanks, Sr., Delta State University
DB-Darren Banks, Sr., West Liberty State
DB-Troy Brookins, Jr., Tiffin University
DB-Maurice Leggett, Sr., Valdosta State University
DB-Kevin Molony, Sr., Presbyterian College
P-Wayne Durham, Sr., Adams State College
2007 Newberry opponents noted in italics