Benedict Named First Team All-American by D2football
Monday, January 8, 2007

NEWBERRY, S.C. - Newberry College offensive lineman Heath Benedict has been named a First Team All-American by which was released on Monday.  This is the second time that Benedict has been named to a first team all-american team.  In December, he was named to the Little All-American First Team by the Associated Press.

Benedict, a junior from Greer, S.C., anchored an offensive line that lead the league in rushing yardage and paved paths for 1,000-yard rusher Alex Haynes.  He graded out at over 90 percent on the season and recorded over 100 knockdown blocks in 2006.  Benedict has been a steady recipient of postseason honors.  He was a First Team All-Southeast Region and Second Team All-American selection by Daktronics and was named to the All-Southeast Region First Team by  Benedict was also an All-South Atlantic Conference First Team selection and was the recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given annually to the league’s top blocker.

Two other Indians were earned honorable mention honors.  Seniors Josh Stepp and Tymere Zimmerman each earned honorable mention accolades.  Stepp, a native of Pelion, S.C., leaves Newberry as the most prolific passer in school history.  He was named to the All-SAC First Team and was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, passing for 2,593 yards and 28 touchdowns.  Zimmerman will leave as the school’s most prolific pass receiver, holding every single-season and career receiving record at Newberry.  He earned his third-straight All-SAC First Team honor this season and became the league’s career leader in receptions with 250.

The All-American team was chosen by the staff of with the input of coaches, sport information directors, and members of the media.  The team is comprised of the top 100 players in NCAA Division II football in 2006. All-American Team
First Team

Quarterback:  Cullen Finnerty, Grand Valley State University.
Running Backs:  Germain Race, Pittsburg State University; Danny Woodhead, Chadron State University.
Wide Receivers:  Eric Fowler, Grand Valley State University; Weston Dressler, University of North Dakota.
Tight End:  Zac Herold, University of Nebraska-Omaha.
Offensive Linemen:  Allan Barbare, Missouri Southern University; Heath Benedict, Newberry College; Brandon Barnes, Grand Valley State University; Ben Hochstein, University of Nebraska-Omaha; Jason Capizzi, University of Indiana (PA.).
Defensive Linemen:  Michael McFadden, Grand Valley State University; Kyle Kaiser, Northwest Missouri State University; Maceo Thomas, Elizabeth City State University; Alton Pettway, Albany State University.
Linebackers:  Ben Harness, Northwest Missouri State University; Charleston Hughes, Northwood University; Thomas Smith Northwest Missouri State University; Michael Eubanks, Delta State University.
Defensive Backs:  Brandon Carr, Grand Valley State University; Dan Peters, Shepherd University; Kyle Killingsworth, Humboldt State University; David Jones, Wingate University.
Placekicker:  Paul Williams, Tarleton State University.
Punter:  Curtis Lilly, East Central University.
All-Purpose:  Stefan Logan, University of South Dakota.