Seven Indians Named to All-Southeast Region Teams
Friday, January 5, 2007 | by Four players named to first team.

NEWBERRY, S.C. - Newberry College had seven football players named to either the first or second team All-Southeast Region by  Among the first team selections were offensive lineman Heath Benedict, running back Alex Haynes, wide receiver Tymere Zimmerman and free safety Derrell Mills.

Benedict, a junior from Greer, S.C. was a key component in Newberry’s vaunted rushing attack in 2006.  Benedict was a First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference selection and was the  recipient of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, given annually to the top blocker in the SAC.  Benedict was named to the All-Southeast Region First Team by Daktronics and followed that honor up with being named a First Team All-American by Daktronics.  Benedict was also named to the Associated Press’ Little All-American First Team.

Haynes, a junior from Summerville, S.C. finished the season rushing for a team and league-best 1,007 yards.  His rushing yards was the eighth-highest rushing mark in a single season at Newberry.  Haynes was named to the All-SAC First Team and was an All-Southeast Region Second Team selection by Daktronics.

Zimmerman, a senior from Bennettsville, S.C., finished his four-year career at Newberry as the most prolific pass receiver in school history.  In 2006 he caught a team-best 62 receptions for 695 yards and 12 touchdowns.  He finished his career with 250 career receptions, making him the SAC’s career leader in receptions.  Zimmerman was named to the All-SAC First Team and was named to the All-Southeast Region Second Team by Daktronics.

Mills, a sophomore from Gray Court, S.C., stepped in during the mid-point of the season and made a splash, recording six interceptions.  He was an All-SAC First Team selection and was a All-Southeast Region Second Team selection by Daktronics.

Second team selections included quarterback Josh Stepp, offensive lineman Marchant Faustin, and linebacker Will Newell.

Stepp, a senior from Pelion, S.C. wrapped up his career as Newberry’s most prolific passer.  Stepp holds every career passing mark in school history.  He was named the SAC’s Offensive Player of the Year, as he passed for 2,593 yards and 28 touchdowns.  He was named to the All-Southeast Region Second Team by Daktronics and was a candidate for the Harlon Hill Trophy. 

Faustin, a sophomore from Summerville, S.C. anchored the left side of the offensive line for the Indians.  Faustin was an All-SAC First Team selection in 2006. 

Newell, a sophomore from Irmo, S.C. led Newberry and the SAC in tackles with 130 tackles from his inside linebacker position.  His 130 stops is the third-highest total in a single-season at Newberry.  Newell was a All-SAC First Team selection and was named to the All-Southeast Region Second Team by Daktronics.

Below are the first and second teams:

First Team

Quarterback: Scott Eyester, Delta State University.
Running Back:  Alex Haynes, Newberry College; Nathaniel Queen, Bowie State University.
Wide Receivers:  Jacoby Jones, Lane College; Tymere Zimmerman, Newberry College.
Tight End:  Kenneth Broadway, North Carolina Central University.
Offensive Lineman:  Heath Benedict, Newberry College; Robert Duncan, North Carolina Central University; Joe Joe Bates, University of North Alabama; Travis Mikel-Allen, Delta State University; Michael Bujnak, Tusculum College.
Kicker:  Brandon Gilbert, North Carolina Central University.
Kick Returner:  Anthony Merritt, University of North Alabama.
Lineman: Alton Pettway, Albany State University; Maceo Thomas, Elizabeth City State University; Alex Hall, St. Augustine’s College; Greg Peterson, North Carolina Central University.
Linebackers:  Michael Eubanks, Delta State University; Emmanuel Plummer, Elizabeth City State University; Kevin Jones, St. Augustine’s College.
Defensive Backs:  David Jones, Wingate University; Derrell Mills, Newberry College; Craig Amos, North Carolina Central University; Robert Towns, Harding University.
Punter:  Kevin Dodson, Elizabeth City State University.
Punt Returner:  De’Audra Dix, Johnson C. Smith University.

Second Team
Quarterback: Josh Stepp, Newberry College.
Running Back:  Kyle Wess, Harding Unviersity; Matt Moore, North Greenville University.
Wide Receivers:  Dan Brooks, Wingate University; Charles Futrell, North Carolina Central University.
Tight End:  Chris Conklin, Wingate University.
Offensive Lineman:  James Peremenis, Carson-Newman College; Michael Ray Robinson, Morehouse College; Sam Funches, North Carolina Central University; Marchant Faustin, Newberry College; Kurt Kutscher, Henderson State University.
Kicker:  Adrian Escalona, North Greenville University.
Kick Returner: Sherard Reynolds, Valdosta State University.
Lineman: Andrew Bernardi, North Greenville University; Kenwin Cummings, Wingate University; Justin Currie, Harding University; Ron Ellington, Catawba College.
Linebackers:  Will Newell, Newberry College; John Perkins,West Georgia University; Sevohn Greer, Harding University.
Defensive Backs:  Chad Burgess, Presbyterian College; Kevin Molony, Presbyterian College; De’Audra Dix, Johnson C. Smith University; Andre George, North Carolina Central University.
Punter:  John Gregory, Tusculum College.
Punt Returner:  Jacoby Jones, Lane College.