Stepp, Zimmerman Named to All-State Team
Tuesday, January 2, 2007

Orangeburg, S.C. - Newberry College quarterback Josh Stepp and wide receiver Tymere Zimmerman have been named to the South Carolina All-State College Football Team by the Orangeburg Touchdown Club.

Stepp, a senior from Pelion, S.C., capped off a tremendous senior season, passing 2,593 yards and a single-season school record 28 touchdown passes.  Stepp was named the South Atlantic Conferenceís Offensive Player-of-the-Year and was a candidate for the Harlon Hill Trophy, given annually to the top player in Division II football.

Zimmerman earns the nod on the all-state team for the second consecutive season.  The senior from Bennettsville, S.C. re-wrote the record book during his four season at Newberry.  In 2006, he hauled in 62 receptions for 695 yards and 12 touchdowns.  Zimmerman, who holds every single-season and career receiving record at Newberry, became the SACís career leader this season in career receptions with 250.

Below is the full list:

Quarterback: Josh Stepp, Newberry College; Tyler Thigpen, Coastal Carolina University
Running Back:  Deshawn Baker, South Carolina State University; James Davis, Clemson University.
Wide ReceiversTymere Zimmerman, Newberry College; Jerome Simpson, Coastal Carolina University; Sidney Rice, University of South Carolina.
Tight End:  Thomas Hunter, Clemson University.
Offensive Lineman:  Nathan Bennett, Clemson University; Dustin Fry, Clemson University; Brad Polston, Coastal Carolina University; Clyde Reed, South Carolina State University; Will Rutherford, Wofford College; Chris White, University of South Carolina.
Kicker:  Ryan Succop, University of South Carolina
Kick Returner:  Jacoby Ford, Clemson University.
  Gaines Adams, Clemson University; Casper Brinkley, University of South Carolina; Roy Ravenell, Furman University; Eric Turner, South Carolina State University.
Linebackers:  Jasper Brinkley, University of South Carolina; Antonio Clay, Clemson University; Jada Ross, Charleston Southern University.
Defensive Backs:  Fred Bennett, University of South Carolina; Chad Burgess, Presbyterian College; Michael Hamlin, Clemson University; Joshua Lawson, Citadel University;
Punter:  Ryan Succop, University of South Carolina.