Stepp Named Candidate for Harlon Hill Trophy
Monday, November 13, 2006

FLORENCE, A.L. - Newberry College quarterback Josh Stepp is one of 24 Division II football players who are in the running for the Harlon Hill Trophy, given annually to the top college football player in NCAA Division II.  The list of candidates was announced on Sunday by the National Harlon Hill Committee.

Stepp a 6-1 senior from Pelion, SC has re-written the record book during his three years as the Indians’ signal-caller.  He holds every career passing record in Newberry history.

Stepp was named the South Atlantic Conference’s Offensive Player-of-the-Year and also earned First Team All-SAC honors at quarterback.  This season, Stepp has passed for 2,052 and a league-best 21 touchdowns.  He has completed 64 percent of his passes and has also rushed for 369 yards and five touchdowns.

Six players from each region are in contention for the Harlon Hill Trophy.  Other nominees from the Southeast Region include quarter back Scott Eyster from Delta State, wide receivers Anthony Merritt and Cedric Jones from North Alabama and Valdosta State, Robert Town of Harding, and Alton Pettway of Albany State. 

The winner of the 2006 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced at the 21st annual Harlon Hill Trophy Presentation Banquet on Friday, December 15 at the Florence Conference Center at 6:30 pm.