Football awards banquet held Saturday
Monday, January 30, 2006 | by Most valuable players, seniors honored

NEWBERRY, S.C. - The Newberry College athletic department held its second annual football awards banquet Saturday night in Eleazer Arena in front of an audience of nearly 400 players, friends, families, supporters and media.

2005 Football BanquetEight most valuable players at positions were chosen by the team, along with the team MVP award.  Josh Stepp (Pelion, S.C.) took the team MVP trophy.

Deshon Rodell (Allendale, S.C.) was selected the most valuable offensive back by his teammates, and Tymere Zimmerman (Bennettsville, S.C.) was named the most valuable receiver.  The most valuable offensive lineman went to Zack Farr (Spartanburg, S.C.).

On defense, Antoine Morgan (Bennettsville, S.C.), Terrance Leverett (Ware Shoals, S.C.) and Donavin Fludd (James Island, S.C.) brought home awards at their positions.  Morgan was voted the top defensive lineman, Leverett the best linebacker, and Fludd as the most valuable defensive back.

Special teams MVP voting was tied, so placekicker/punter Ryan Lukshis (Irmo, S.C.) and return specialist Antwan Surratt (Spartanburg, S.C.) were named co-MVPs.

Fans can catch the next bit of Newberry football action during the spring game, to be held at Setzler Field on April 8.  The scrimmage is scheduled to start at noon.

Photos from top to bottom: Head coach Zak Willis speaks to the crowd. Assistant head coach Alan Hall stands with quarterback Josh Stepp.  Wide receivers coach Ike Allred congratulates Tymere Zimmerman.  Willis stands with Zack Farr with a backdrop of other senior football players.