Newberry lands six on All-South Atlantic Conference football teams
Monday, November 7, 2005 | by Zimmerman, Leverett, Benedict and Farr on All-SAC first team

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Newberry College football had six players named to the All-South Atlantic Conference team, the league announced today.  Four first team members and two second teamers were selected from the Scarlet and Gray gridiron team.

Presbyterian College, which won its first South Atlantic Conference football title since 1979, had a league-high seven players named to the first team, while second-place Carson-Newman College placed a total of 13 players on the first and second team.

Presbyterian senior quarterback Zach Ellis, who led the conference in passing yards per game and passing efficiency, was named the SAC’s Offensive Player of the Year, while Carson-Newman senior linebacker Anthony Robinson was named the SAC’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Catawba College matched Presbyterian with eight All-Conference selections. The Indians placed six on the First Team.

Tusculum and Wingate University each placed seven on the All-Conference Team. Tusculum had three First Team honorees, while Wingate had two.

Newberry and Lenoir-Rhyne each had six representatives on the All-Conference Team. Newberry had four selections on the First Team, while Lenoir-Rhyne had two.

Mars Hill College had three All-Conference picks, including two on the First Team.

The head coaches in the conference select the All-Conference teams.

A complete list of the 2005 South Atlantic All-Conference Team follows:

First Team Offense
QB – Zach Ellis, Presbyterian
WR – Tymere Zimmerman, Newberry
WR – Christopher Winford, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Justin Durant, Presbyterian
WR – Corey Ready, Catawba
RB – Antione Jones, Mars Hill
RB – Kory Fisher, Catawba
RB – Andrew Tudor, Lenoir-Rhyne
TE – Shane Timmons, Carson-Newman
OL – Pat Egan, Carson-Newman
OL – Marcus Brisbone, Presbyterian
OL – Heath Benedict, Newberry
OL – Corey Kirby, Mars Hill
OL – Zack Farr, Newberry
OL – Will Reedy, Catawba
PK – Rush Rollins, Catawba
RS – Octavius Love, Tusculum

First Team Defense
DL – Shajai Jackson, Carson-Newman
DL – Kenwin Cummings, Wingate
DL – Ron Ellington, Catawba
DL – Adrian Samples, Tusculum
LB – Antwan Thomas, Presbyterian
LB – Terrance Leverett, Newberry
LB – Anthony Robinson, Carson-Newman
LB – Lester Sconyers, Catawba
DB – Deonte Bolden, Carson-Newman
DB – David Jones, Wingate
DB – Quasi Gary, Presbyterian
DB – Chad Burgess, Presbyterian
P – Stuart Moll, Presbyterian
LS – Robbie Kelly, Tusculum
Second Team Offense
QB – Josh Stepp, Newberry
WR – Dan Brooks, Wingate
WR – Jamichael Caldwell, Tusculum
RB – J.J. Chatmon, Carson-Newman
RB – Ray Hightower, Carson-Newman
RB – Mario Crowe, Catawba
TE – Matt Winters, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Tee Campbell, Carson-Newman
OL – Gavin Mauldin, Tusculum
OL – Craig Whitley, Wingate
OL – Brandon Manshack, Wingate
PK – Ryan Lukshis, Newberry
RS – Deonte Bolden, Carson-Newman
Second Team Defense
DL – Benjamin McDowell, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Anthony Toribio, Carson-Newman
DL – Donte Strickland, Carson-Newman
DL – Marcus Huntley, Catawba
LB – Tim Clarke, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Shawn Harris, Tusculum
LB – Eric Rice, Carson-Newman
LB – Allen Smith, Wingate
DB – Jermey Brown, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Marcus Robinson, Tusculum
DB – Donald Brown, Wingate
DB – Rashawn Champion, Mars Hill
P – David Brentz, Carson-Newman
LS – Sean Foley, Presbyterian