Newberry football places six on preseason All-SAC teams
Friday, July 22, 2005 | by by Scott McCain, Newberry Sports Information

SALISBURY, N.C. - Six Newberry College football players earned spots on the preseason All-South Atlantic Conference squad, the conference announced Friday afternoon at the annual football media day and press conference at Salisbury.

Senior linebacker Terrance Leverett (Ware Shoals, S.C.) is the lone defensive returnee that made the All-SAC first team in 2004.  His team-leading 111 tackles were good for second in the league last year, and strong performances this fall could earn him not only first team All-SAC recognition, but SAC defensive player of the year and All-Region--or even All-American--honors.

Tymere Zimmerman (Bennettsville, S.C.) was an All-SAC first team member last season as a sophomore, and holds that position coming into 2005.  He was either second or third in the SAC in every receiving category last year, and is statistically if not genuinely the best returning wideout in the conference.  Antwan Surratt (Spartanburg, S.C.) joins Zimmerman as an all-conference receiver, as he was selected to the second team.  Surratt already holds the second team All-SAC spot at return specialist, an honor he retained from the 2004 campaign where he had the highest yards-per-punt-return average.

Center Zack Farr (Spartanburg, S.C.) advances from the 2004 second team to the preseason first team.  A phenomenonal leader and worker, Farr will push hard for the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, awarded annually to the conference's best offensive lineman as voted on by the head coaches.  Sophomore Heath Benedict (Greer, S.C.) joins Farr on the conference's preseason first team.

Trigger man Josh Stepp (Pelion, S.C.) leads what figures to be the best passing attack in the conference, and was recognized as such with a preseason first team nod.  The sophomore quarterback broke multiple school records last season and made his way onto several all-time conference season lists.  Stepp was #1 in every relevant passing and total offense category last year, and with another year of experience, those numbers should only increase.

The preseason all-conference teams are selected by the league's eight sports information directors in conjunction with the returning players from the previous season's all-SAC teams (which are selected by coaches).

OFFENSE                     DEFENSE          
First Team                  First Team

QB - Josh Stepp, NEW        DL - Sherman Burnett, PC
WR - Corey Ready, CAT       DL - Kolby Fisher, CAT
WR - Rod Tenor, CAT         DL - Anrae Fevier, MH
WR - Tymere Zimmerman, NEW  DL - Marcus Huntley, CAT
RB - Mario Crowe, CAT       LB - Tim Clarke, L-R
RB - Antione Jones, MH      LB - SaMario Houston, CAT
RB - Andrew Tudor, L-R      LB - Terrance Leverett, NEW
TE - Matt Winters, L-R      LB - Allen Smith, WU
OL - Cameron Atchley, C-N   DB - Quasi Gary, PC
OL - Pat Egan, C-N          DB - Chad Burgess, PC
OL - Zack Farr, NEW         DB - Marcus Robinson, TC
OL - Brandon Manshack, WU   DB - David Jones, WU
OL - Heath Benedict, NEW     P - Chris Cromer, MH
PK - Andrew Coln, L-R       RS - Chris Winford, L-R
LS - Derrick Milligan, CAT

Second Team                 Second Team
QB - Zack Ellis, PC         DL - Benjamin McDowell, L-R
WR - Chris Winford, L-R     DL - Spencer Bobian, MH
WR - Dan Brooks, WU         DL - Shaji Jackson, C-N
WR - Antwan Surratt, NEW    DL - Norris Woods, C-N
RB - Kiel Angry, C-N        LB - Lester Sconyers, CAT
RB - George Washington, MH  LB - Shawn Harris, TC
RB - Rip Smith, WU          LB - Rodney Peebles, TC
TE - Justin Heath, C-N      LB - Eric Rice, C-N
OL - Marcus Brisbone, PC    DB - Deonte Bolden, C-N
OL - Jake Helms, L-R        DB - Rian Jefferson, L-R
OL - Rick Lewis, TC         DB - Brandon Walden, C-N
OL - Craig Whitley, WU      DB - Darrell Doe, PC
OL - Brock Thom, CAT         P - Brandon Hagen, L-R
PK - Brandon Mott, C-N      RS - Antwan Surratt, NEW
LS - Robby Kelly, TC