Seven Indians named football All-South Atlantic Conference
Monday, November 8, 2004 | by courtesy South Atlantic Conference

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Newberry College had seven players named to All-South Atlantic Conference teams, the league office announced today.  Four of those were named to the first team.

Carson-Newman College, which won its 18th South Atlantic Conference regular season championship, and Catawba College, making its fifth trip to the NCAA Tournament in the last six years, led the way in the 2004 SAC All-Conference Team awards.

In a season of parity on the football field, which included a four-way tie for second place in the league standings, the All-Conference representatives were equally balanced, with Catawba leading the way with 11 total representatives, while every other team had between five and eight representatives. Carson-Newman had a league-high six members on the First Team.

Redshirt junior Terrance Leverett (Ware Shoals, S.C.) finished second in the conference in total tackles (112) and won first team honors.  Leverett was voted preseason first team All-SAC by the league's sports information directors, and earned second-team honors last year despite leading the conference in tackles.

First-time recipients of all-conference honors were Tony Ransom (Marion, S.C.), Jonathan Lyles (Camden, S.C.), and Tymere Zimmerman (Bennettsville, S.C.).  Ransom was a preseason first team selection despite the fact that he was not a previous All-SAC honoree in 2003.  He won Defensive Player of the Week two times this season, most recently for his efforts last Saturday in the win over Presbyterian.  Ransom led the conference in sacks and finished second in tackles for loss.

Lyles, a senior cornerback, picked off six passes to tie for second-best in the league.  His 11 passes defended were also good for second in the SAC.  Zimmerman had another banner year for the Indians, finishing second in both receptions (66) and yards (874).  His eight touchdowns this year tie an Indian record for scores by a receiver.

Center Zack Farr (Spartanburg, S.C.) was named to the second team in the preseason, and retained that status by coaches' votes Sunday.  Specialists Jeff Williams (Pelion, S.C.) and Antwan Surratt (Spartanburg, S.C.) earned spots on the conference's second team as punter and return specialist, respectively.  Williams finished the conference portion of the season with a 41.1 punting average, less than a yard-per-punt than the first team punter.  Surratt paced the league in punt return average (10.3 ypr) and was fourth on the kickoff return list (23.3 ypr).

2004 All-SAC First Team 2004 All-SAC Second Team
QB – Shane Kelley, C-N
WR – Rod Dewalt, MH
WR – Tim Pope, PC
WR – Tymere Zimmerman, NEW
RB – Rayvon Howard, CN
RB – Antione Jones, MH
RB – Andrew Tudor, LR
TE – Leonard Weaver, C-N
OL – Caleb Crothers, CN
OL – Prince Floyd, MH
OL – Mario Leon, TC
OL – Daniel Lynch, CAT
OL – Reggie Perkins, C-N
PK – Andrew Coln, LR
LS – Tony Tofanelli, WU
QB – Luke Samples, CAT
WR – Corey Ready, CAT
WR – Matt Riggs, TC
WR – Rodney Williams, WU
RB – Kiel Angry, C-N
RB – Mario Crowe, CAT
RB – Rodney Wallace, CAT
TE – John Vernon, CAT
OL – David Callaway, LR
OL – Pat Egan, CN
OL – Zack Farr, NEW
OL – Brandon Manshack, WU
OL – Bucky Yates, CAT
PK – Ryan Noll, PC
LS – Derrick Milligan, CAT
DL – Quincy Brown, CN
DL – Kolby Fisher, CAT
DL – Lebron Johnson, TC
DL – Tony Ransom, NEW
LB – Tim Clarke, LR
LB – SaMario Houston, CAT
LB – Terrance Leverett, NEW
LB – Colby Simmons, MH
DB – Quasi Gary, PC
DB – Ra’Shun Judge, TC
DB – Jonathan Lyles, NEW
DB – JaQuan Winston, MH
P – Cory Newton, TC
RS – Chris Winford, LR
DL – Teddy Canty, PC
DL – Anrae Fevier, MH
DL – Marcus Huntley, CAT
DL – Larrick Womack, MH
LB – David Behrendsen, PC
LB – Shawn Harris, TC
LB – Rodney Peebles, TC
LB – Allen Smith, WU
DB – Gerren Brittian, LR
DB – Chad Burgess, PC
DB – Jaquion Gholston, WU
DB – Marcus Robinson, TC
P – Jeff Williams, NEW
RS – Antwan Surratt, NEW