Olenchuck named preseason all-region, Totherow honorable mention

Olenchuck named preseason all-region, Totherow honorable mention
Monday, January 30, 2017 | by Randall Stewart, Director of Athletic Communications

PEMBROKE, N.C. – Third baseman Derek Olenchuck was voted first team all-Southeast Region by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America, while Daymon Totherow received honorable mention honors.

Olenchuck adds the all-region nod to a preseason first team all-South Atlantic Conference selection last week. The junior third baseman finished third on the team with a .345 batting average during a breakout 2016 campaign. He led the team in both hits (67) and runs batted in (49), finishing 10th and 11th in the SAC in those categories, and won an AstroTurf SAC Player of the Week accolade for hitting .545 with four RBI during a perfect opening weekend that saw Newberry take down a pair of ranked teams.

Totherow was also named to the preseason all-SAC first team. He finished second on the team last season with a .355 average and led the team in slugging at .574. He hit 10 doubles, a conference-high nine triples, four home runs, tied for third on the team with 35 RBI, and finished fifth in the league with 22 stolen bases. Both his 14 multi-RBI games and 15-game hitting streaks were the longest the team.

The Wolves were one spot outside the preseason all-region top 10, falling a single vote shy of matching 10th-place UNC Pembroke's vote total. Catawba was the top-ranked SAC school in the poll, checking in at No. 2, while ninth-place Tusculum also represented the league in the poll. USC Aiken received nine of 13 first-place votes to take the top spot.



 Rank   Team  Points   First-Place Votes 
1  USC Aiken 119 9
2  Catawba 102 1
3  Belmont Abbey 91 1
4  Mount Olive 80  
5  Lander 65 1
6  Columbus State  64 1
7  North Georgia 52  
8  Erskine 38  
9  Tusculum 37  
10  UNC Pembroke 16  



SP - Ethan Elliot, Lincoln Memorial
SP - Dylan Ward, Barton
SP - Bruce Zimmerman, Mount Olive
RP - Bryan Blanton, Catawba
C - Andrew Webster, Barton
1B - Henry Faunce, Erskine
2B - Zach Finchum, Tusculum
3B - Derek Olenchuck, Newberry
SS - Colin Rosenbaum, Belmont Abbey
OF - Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey
OF - Garrett Lowery, Limestone
OF - Clint Hardy, Augusta
DH - Zach Moon, USC Aiken
UT - Brooks Kennedy, Francis Marion


SP - Alex Calvert, Erskine
SP - Brighton Hudson, Mount Olive
SP - Brandon Koehler, Columbus State
SP - Blake Waldren, Belmont Abbey
1B - Nathaniel Maggio, North Greenville
2B - Derek Perry, Pfeiffer
3B - Nick Nunziato, Belmont Abbey
3B - Zach Scudder, Pfeiffer
SS - Brandon Benson, Georgia College
SS - Calvin Hawke, Barton
OF - Tyler Garrett, Barton
OF - Logan Mattix, Georgia College
OF - Mitchell Price, USC Aiken
OF - Daymon Totherow, Newberry
OF - Chase Watts, Erskine
DH - Bradley Brown, Wingate
DH - Chris Rave, Erskine
UT - Zach Almond, Catawba