Kelly named second team all-Southeast Region by ABCA/Rawlings

Kelly named second team all-Southeast Region by ABCA/Rawlings
Tuesday, May 24, 2016 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Newberry College junior starting pitcher Zack Kelly has been named second team all-Southeast Region by Rawlings and the American Baseball Coaches Association, as announced Tuesday evening.

Kelly, a junior from Daleville, Va., was named first team all-South Atlantic Conference in his first season at Newberry after transferring from Concord (W. Va.).

He made 14 starts and logged an 8-4 record in 86.1 innings pitched, allowing 29 earned runs for a 3.02 ERA. He struck out 83 batters and walked 43 and allowed two or fewer earned runs in 10 starts. He struck out nine batters in three games - at Barry, at Belmont Abbey and home vs. King - in his first three starts of the year. 

“We could always rely on a quality start from Kelly in 2016,” Newberry pitching coach P.J. Zocchi said. “Sometimes there is added pressure coming in as a transfer but Kelly has proved himself to be a work horse for the team.”

This is the fourth straight season Newberry has been represented on the ABCA all-region teams.

2016 Southeast-ABCA/Rawlings All-Region Teams
NCAA Div. II Southeast All-Region First Team
Pos. Player Cl. School
C Will Albertson Sr. Catawba
1B Mike McClellan Sr. Columbus State
2B Dylan Cook Sr. Georgia College
3B Blake Edwards Sr. Columbus State
SS Evan Rogers Sr. Mars Hill
INF Colby Lusignan Sr. Lander
OF Shane Billings Jr. Wingate
OF Ryan Whitt Jr. King
OF Matthew Miller Jr. Georgia College
OF Zak Orrison Sr. Mount Olive
DH Zach Moon Jr. USC Aiken
P Placido Torres Sr. Tusculum
P Dylan Ward So. Barton
P Bruce Zimmerman Jr. Mount Olive
P Vince Apicella Sr. Carson-Newman
RP Brandon White Jr. Lander
NCAA Div. II Southeast All-Region Second Team
Pos. Player Cl. School
C Andrew Webster Jr. Barton
1B Taylor Walker Sr. Montevallo
2B Dylan Richardson Sr. Catawba
3B Brandon Roberts Sr. Carson-Newman
SS Ryan Ihle Sr. Columbus State
INF Henry Faunce Jr. Erskine
OF Will Winslow Jr. Coker
OF Jackson Oliver Sr. Columbus State
OF Kevin Victoriano Sr. Tusculum
OF Zach Daly Sr. Lander
DH Thomas Berry Sr. Lander
P Zack Kelly Jr. Newberry
P Ethan Elliott Fr. Lincoln Memorial
P Will Jones Sr. Lander
P Brandon Agar Sr. North Georgia
RP Joe Johnson Sr. Erskine

Southeast Region Position Player of the Year: Dylan Cook, Georgia College
Southeast Region Pitcher of the Year: Placido Torres, Tusculum