Albert Baur adds ECAC All-Star to list of accolades

Albert Baur adds ECAC All-Star to list of accolades
Tuesday, June 9, 2015 | by Josh Manck, Assistant AD for Athletic Communications

DANBURY, Conn. - Newberry College first baseman Albert Baur has added to his lengthy list of postseason accolades, as he was named an Eastern College Athletic Conference Division II All-Star by the ECAC membership on Wednesday.

Baur (Philadelphia, Pa. / Neumann-Goretti HS) is Newberry's first baseball ECAC All-Star in the school's first year of ECAC membership. 

Baur was a consensus Division II All-American, earning first team All-American honors from Daktronics/D2SIDA and second team All-American honors from the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and National Collegiate Baseball Writers' Association (NCBWA).

The two-time first team All-South Atlantic Conference selection was a consensus first team all-region selection from the NCBWA, Daktronics and the ABCA, the only player in school history to be named first team by each publication in a single year. 

He led the Wolves to their most prolific season in recent history, leading them to 34 wins - the most since 1977 - and 21 wins in South Atlantic Conference action, the first time Newberry has eclipsed the 20-win mark since joining the league since 1997. In his tenure, Baur led the scarlet and gray to 113 victories, the most by any player in a four year career dating back through 1982. 

Baur hit .427 (88-for-206) for the season with 24 doubles, 16 home runs, 59 RBIs and 54 runs scored. He slugged .796 while reaching base at a .510 clip en route to setting the single season Newberry records for hits, doubles, total bases, on-base percentage and slugging percentage.  

In the South Atlantic Conference standings, Baur placed in the top six in hits, runs, doubles, home runs, RBIs, total bases, batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage. His batting average, doubles, hits, home runs, on-base percentage, slugging percentage and total bases also ranked in the top 20 in all of NCAA Division II. 

Throughout the course of the season, Baur totaled 28 games with multiple hits, including 12 with three or more hits and three with five or more. He blasted two home runs in the same game four times in 2015. He had the longest hitting streak for Newberry this season with 11 games and the second longest streak of reaching base with 29 consecutive contests. Baur also tabbed 14 match ups with two or more RBIs, seven of which came with four or more. 

His best game of the season came against Limestone on February 18 when he went 5-for-5, hitting for the cycle with two home runs, seven RBIs and crossed the plate five times. He tagged five hits in six trips to the plate against Catawba on February 27 with another pair of home runs and four RBIs. In the first game of the series at Lenoir-Rhyne on April 3, he was 5-for-5 with two home runs, just a triple shy of hitting for the cycle for the second time in the season. 

The left-handed hitter caps off an illustrious career and leaves Newberry as the most decorated player in program history. Baur compiled a .353 career batting average (284-for-805) with 66 doubles, 29 home runs, 196 RBIs and scored 150 times. He donned the Wolves uniform 203 times in his tenure, making 200 starts, setting the Newberry standard in nearly every statistical category. 

Baur leaves the program holding the all-time records for games played, games started, at bats, hits, doubles, RBIs, total bases, intentional walks, defensive putouts, defensive chances and double plays turned. His batting average, slugging percentage, runs scored, home runs and walks also rank in the top 10 in Newberry history. 

2015 ECAC Division II Baseball All-Star Team

ECAC Player of the Year: Nick Sell, Sr., Seton Hill 
ECAC Pitcher of the Year: Brendan O’Rourke, Sr., Franklin Pierce
ECAC Rookie of the Year: Drew Quinones, Fr., Lindenwood
ECAC Coach of the Year: Jayson King, Franklin Pierce

First Team
C – Matt Walsh, Sr., Franklin Pierce
1B – Albert Baur, Sr., Newberry
2B – Pat McCarthy, Sr., Seton Hill
SS – Dylan Tice, Sr., West Chester
3B – Nick Sell, Sr., Seton Hill
DH – Chris LaVorgna, So., Franklin Pierce
OF – Wade Rothermich, Sr., Lindenwood
OF – Austin Crutcher, Sr., Bellarmine
OF – Drew Quinones, Fr., Lindenwood
UT – Zach DeCamp, Jr., Lake Erie
*P – Brendan O’Rourke, Sr., Franklin Pierce
*P – Jake DeCarli, So., LIU Post
*P – Jon Klein, Sr., Mercyhurst
*P – Miles Sheehan, Jr., Franklin Pierce

Second Team
C – Chris Miller, Jr., Seton Hill
1B – Matt O’Herron, Jr., Franklin Pierce
2B – Nick Baviello, Sr., Southern Connecticut State
SS – Rob Alonso, Sr., Dominican
3B – Jay Jabs, So., Franklin Pierce
DH – Tim Bickford, Sr., Bridgeport
*OF – Wes Baylor, Sr., Mansfield
*OF – Sean McCracken, Sr., Indianapolis
*OF – John Razzino, Sr., Franklin Pierce
*OF – Giancarlo Saia, Sr., Mercyhurst
UT – Angel Martinez, Sr., Mercyhurst
P – Mike Lundin, So., Franklin Pierce
P – Matthew Kaplanis, Jr., Indianapolis
P – Jonathan Mulford, Jr., Adelphi