Alex Roberts named finalist for TD Ameritrade Fan's Choice Award

Alex Roberts named finalist for TD Ameritrade Fan's Choice Award
Tuesday, May 26, 2015 | by Chas Goodwin, Athletic Communications Assistant

OMAHA, Neb. – Senior right-handed pitcher Alex Roberts has been selected as one of 18 finalists for 2015 TD Ameritrade Fan’s Choice Award, as announced Tuesday afternoon. Roberts is the lone representative from the South Atlantic Conference and one of two players to represent the state of South Carolina.

Developed in 2012, the honor exemplifies college baseball players whose unique qualities expand well beyond the playing field, particularly in the classroom and in the community. They are positive role models and demonstrate core values like teamwork and integrity along with the drive to win.

Throughout his four year career, Roberts amassed nine wins in 25 starts, including four complete games. He logged 111 strikeouts in 143.1 innings pitched while carrying a 5.71 career ERA, even after missing his junior season due to injury. The Myrtle Beach, S.C., native graduated on May 9 with a 3.96 GPA with a degree in psychology and an English minor. He will attend the University of South Carolina this fall to pursue his Ph.D. in psychology. Roberts was also active on the Newberry College campus, serving as a student marshal for all four years, a member of the Blue Key and Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) honor societies, the Summerland Honors Program and the Student Athlete Advisory Committee.

“Alex has impacted our program since his arrival four years ago,” head Newberry baseball coach Russell Triplett said. “He has served as a leader on and off the field, both while playing and redshirting. He has a tremendous work ethic and is mature beyond his years.”

The TD Ameritrade Fan’s Choice Award is the only college baseball award determined solely by fans. Fans are eligible to cast their vote up to three times a day at through Facebook, Twitter and by logging into the Fan’s Choice Award website beginning May 26.

The voting process is a bracket style competition, and the schedule will be as follows:
                     -Round 1 (18 players) – 5/26 thru 6/8
                     -Round 2 (8 players) – 6/8 thru 6/15
                     -Round 3 (4 players) – 6/15 thru 6/22

The voting will close at Noon CT on June 22 and the winner will be announced after the voting closes.

Fans are encouraged to promote Roberts’ nomination by using the hashtag #VoteARob.

The TD Ameritrade Fan’s Choice Award winner will have the opportunity to be recognized on July 2, 2015, at the TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby in Omaha, Neb., the site of the NCAA Division I College World Series.

TD Ameritrade Fan’s Choice Award Winners
2012 – Drew Gadaire (Davidson)
2013 – Dominic Porretta (Otterbein)
2014 – Pat Wiese (Le Moyne)