Albert Baur, Wesley Camp and Brandan Sheridan named All-Southeast Region by the NCBWA

Albert Baur, Wesley Camp and Brandan Sheridan named All-Southeast Region by the NCBWA
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 | by Chas Goodwin, Athletic Communications Assistant

PEMBROKE, N.C. – Newberry College senior baseball standouts Albert BaurWesley Camp and Brandan Sheridan have garnered National Collegiate Baseball Writers’ Association (NCBWA) All-Southeast Region honors, as announced Tuesday.

The distinctions mark the fourth straight year that the Wolves have posted members on an all-region squad and the first NCBWA honorees since Baur, Jon Rosenberger (Anderson, S.C.) and Ryan Cranmer (Newport, N.C.) earned the accolades in 2013.

Baur (Philadelphia, Pa.) was named the first team at first base after leading Newberry and finishing second in the South Atlantic Conference with a .427 batting average (88-for-206). His 88 hits, 24 doubles and .796 slugging percentage are the all-time leading marks in the Newberry single season record books. He also posted 16 home runs, 59 RBIs, 54 runs scored and a .510 on-base percentage.

His 5-for-5 performance, in which he hit for the cycle with a pair of home runs, seven RBIs and five runs scored, earned him “Male Performance of the Year” at Newberry’s annual Wolfies where he also picked up “Male Athlete of the Year” and “Male Career Achievement” honors.

Baur’s leatherwork earned him the SAC’s Gold Glove award at first base with only four errors on the year for a .992 fielding percentage. He was named a semifinalist for the Tino Martinez Award and also picked up a SAC Player of the Week plaudit during the year.

Camp (Pelion, S.C.) took home second team honors as a starting pitcher. The southpaw compiled a 9-2 record in 2015, leading the South Atlantic Conference and tying the Newberry record for most wins in a season. He logged 83 innings and struck out 77 batters to boast a 6.42:1 strikeout to walk ratio. He finished third in the SAC with a 2.82 ERA while opposing batters only hit .272 against him for the year.

His ninth victory came as a complete game shutout of the Wingate Bulldogs in the first round of the 2015 South Atlantic Conference Baseball Tournament, securing him a space on the All-Tournament squad. He scattered six hits and struck out six Bulldog batters without surrendering a walk in the 9-0 win, his first complete game of the year and the fourth of his career. The shutout was the second of his tenure for the Wolves.

Sheridan (Jacksonville, Fla.) notched an honorable mention nod after hitting .370 (70-for-189) on the year. He added 17 doubles, three triples, three home runs, 38 RBIs and scored as many times while swiping 17 bases. Sheridan ranked in the top 12 in the SAC in hits, doubles, triples and batting average. He was named the SAC Player of the Week and Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Player of the Week on March 31 and April 1, respectively. 

The first team all-SAC selections led the Wolves to back-to-back 30 win seasons for the first time in recorded history dating back through 1981. The 34 wins in 2015 is the single season record in that time frame while their 21 victories in South Atlantic Conference play was the first time Newberry has ever eclipsed the 20-win mark since joining the league in 1997. 

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. Mmebers receive a membership card, directory, newsletter updates and offical votes in the Howser Award Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year and NCBWA All-America voting. The NCBWA also sponsors preseason All-America awards, publication and writing contests.

2015 NCBWA All-Southeast Region Team

Starting Pitcher: Craig Brooks, Catawba
Starting Pitcher: Mike O'Reilly, Flagler
Starting Pitcher: Gunnar Kines, Mount Olive
Relief Pitcher: Adam Boghosian, North Greenville
Catcher: Will Albertson, Catawba
First Base: Albert Baur, Newberry
Second Base: Shane Billings, Wingate
Third Base: Collins Cuthrell, UNC Pembroke
Shortstop: Brandon Overstreet, Erskine
Outfield: Jason Morozowski, Mount Olive
Outfield: Thomas Spitz, Wingate
Outfield: Clint Hardy, Georgia Regents
Designated Hitter: Mike McLellan, Columbus State
Utility: Matt Rubino, Francis Marion

Starting Pitcher: Placido Torres, Tusculum
Starting Pitcher: Wesley Camp, Newberry
Starting Pitcher: Pete Nagel, Armstrong State
Relief Pitcher: Tyler Graham, Armstrong State
Catcher: Anthony Dimino, Belmont Abbey
First Base: Joe Koehler, Mount Olive
Second Base: Andrew Brodbeck, Flagler
Third Base: Justin Manning, Mount Olive
Shortstop: Zade Denton, UNC Pembroke
Outfield: Jake Sandlin, Georgia College
Outfield: Brendan Collins, Columbus State
Outfield: Blake Houston, Catawba
Designated Hitter: Drew Taylor, Georgia Regents
Utility: Allen Staton, North Greenville

Starting Pitcher: Danny Brown, Flagler; Matt Kelley, Francis Marion; Vince Apicella, Carson-Newman; Luke Crumley, Erskine; Derek Justice, Mount Olive; Jacob Beauchamp, North Georgia; Andy Sullivan, UNC Pembroke; Shafer Shepard, Catawba. Relief Pitcher: Devan Watts, Tusculum. Catcher: Sam Tidaback, North Georgia; Chad Whitehead, UNC Pembroke. First Base: Steven Knudson, Montevallo; Zach Smith, Erskine. Second Base: Dylan Cook, Georgia College; Zak Orrison, Mount Olive. Third Base: Nick Nunziato, Belmont Abbey; Nick Morabito, Lincoln Memorial. Shortstop: Ryan Perkins, Lenoir-Rhyne; Jose Sola, King. Outfield: Izzy Perez, Pfeiffer; Matthew Haskins, Montevallo; Rayshelon Carolina, Mars Hill; Drew Cole, UNC Pembroke; Brandan Sheridan, Newberry; J.D. Crowe, Francis Marion; Ben Schmucker, UNC Pembroke; Kilgore Gailmard, Mount Olive; Nick Kranick, Flagler; Logan Galliher, Erskine. Designated Hitter: T.J. Wharton, Catawba; Bradley Brown, Wingate. Utility: Rob Shipman, Mount Olive.

Player of the Year: Will Albertson, Catawba
Pitcher of the Year: Craig Brooks, Catawba
Coach of the Year: Tom Cantrell, North Georgia