Camp and Bradley earn All-Tournament team accolades

Camp and Bradley earn All-Tournament team accolades
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 | by Chas Goodwin, Athletic Communications Assistant

ROCK HILL – Newberry baseball standouts Wesley Camp (Pelion, S.C.) and JoJo Bradley (Spartanburg, S.C.) have been named to the All-South Atlantic Conference Baseball Tournament team for their performance in this past weekend’s tournament in Forest City, N.C., the league office announced Tuesday.

Camp, a senior, was sensational on the mound in what could be his final start in a Newberry uniform. The southpaw logged the second complete-game shutout of his career in the Wolves’ 9-0 victory over Wingate on Friday afternoon. He scattered six hits and struck out six Bulldog batters without allowing a walk in the nine innings, serving Wingate their only defeat of the tournament.

Bradley led Newberry offensively with six hits in 12 trips to plate, averaging .500 for the three games. He added two doubles, three RBIs and four runs scored to slug .667 and carry a .538 on-base percentage. The junior’s best game came against Tusculum when he went 3-for-4 with a double, two RBIs and three runs scored in the 11-7 loss to the Pioneers on Saturday evening.

The Wolves entered the tournament as the second seed, the first time Newberry has finished in the top three slots in the final standings since joining the South Atlantic Conference in 1997. The Wolves finished fourth in the tournament after losing to eventual champion Wingate and third place Tusculum on Saturday and Sunday, respectively.

The final record of 34-18 is the most wins in recorded history dating back through 1981, with 21 wins coming in SAC action. This is the first time a Newberry squad has amassed over 20 wins in league play in the 18 years the school has been associated with the SAC.

2015 South Atlantic Conference Baseball Championship All-Tournament Team

Thomas Spitz, Wingate (MVP)
Shane Billings, Wingate
Bradley Brown, Wingate
Josh Clark, Wingate
Michael Godinez, Wingate
Brett Morgan, Wingate
Tyler Brown, Wingate
Will Albertson, Catawba
Luke Setzer, Catawba
Dylan Richardson, Catawba
Ryan McClintock, Catawba
Andrew Bowerman, Tusculum
Jeremiah Tullidge, Tusculum
Wesley Camp, Newberry
JoJo Bradley, Newberry