McElwee named first team all-SAC; Rufus earns Gold Glove

McElwee named first team all-SAC; Rufus earns Gold Glove
Wednesday, April 18, 2012

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Newberry College senior Josh McElwee has been named to the all-South Atlantic Conference first team as a starting pitcher, while senior outfielder Kevin Rufus earned Gold Glove honors as announced by the league office Wednesday.

McElwee (Andrews, S.C.) was a two-time SAC Pitcher of the Week this season and ranks third in the nation in Division II with 88 strikeouts on the way to a 5-2 record with a 3.03 ERA in 68.1 innings pitched. He had four games with double-digit strikeout totals, including 15 K's in an 8-inning no decision against Wingate. He was also a 2009 second team all-SAC honoree.

McElwee is second in the league in strikeouts with 88, second in the conference in earned run average with a 3.03 ERA, third in the league in opponent's batting average at .228, seventh in the league in innings pitched at 68.1. He is just the fourth first team all-SAC in Newberry's program since joining the SAC in 1997 and first since starting pitcher Brandon Petty in 2007.

All-Time Newberry First Team All-SAC Selections

Year Player Pos.
2012 Josh McElwee P
2007 Brandon Petty P
2001 Kyle Sherrill OF
1999 Xavier Blake OF

Rufus (Andrews, S.C.) is Newberry's first SAC Gold Glove performer in three years of the conference handing out the award. He has a perfect fielding percentage with 72 putouts, two outfield assists and no errors committed. In his two seasons at Newberry, Rufus has not committed an error.

Freshman Wesley Camp (Pelion, S.C.) was named the SAC statistical champion in seals, with an average of 0.51 steals per game. The Wolves led the conference with 1.83 steals per game as a team.

Newberry kicks off the 2012 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Tournament on Thursday at noon as the sixth seed against the top-seeded Tusculum Pioneers.

For more information on the complete all-South Atlantic Conference baseball teams, click here.

SAC Player of the Year: Kyle Koeneman, C-N
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year: Craig Goodman, TC
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year: JJ Jankowski, CAT
SAC Freshman of the Year: Chad Funkhouser, BC
SAC Coach of the Year: Doug Jones, TC

2012 All-SAC Team

First Team
C - Brett Scarberry, AU
1B - Kyle Koeneman, C-N
2B - Andre Rodriguez, LMU
SS - Joe Horsley, LMU
3B - Cade Stallings, TC
OF - Casey Allison, WU
OF - Joey Belviso, MHC
OF - Ethan Satterfield, CAT
DH - Garrett Furr, CAT
SP - Craig Goodman, TC
SP - JJ Jankowski, CAT
SP - Josh McElwee, NEW
RP - John-Austin Shepard, TC

Second Team
C - Cody Coffman, TC
1B - Coty Pate, MHC
2B - Chad Funkhouser, BC
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Jacob Karr, WU
OF - Champ Stuart, BC
OF - Alexi Colon, TC
OF - Dodson McPherson, WU
DH - Carlos Santana, TC
SP - Nick Lomascolo, CAT
SP - Taylor Rakes, TC
SP - Robby Thigpen, C-N
RP - Nate King, CAT

2012 SAC Gold Glove Team
C - Christian Christopoulos, BC
C - Greg Lawson, CAT
1B - Tarron Robinson, BC
2B - Julio Zubillaga, CAT
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Blake May, AU
OF - Ryan Bostian, CAT
OF - Kevin Rufus, NEW
OF - Cody Baker, LMU
OF - Aaron Guinn, TC
P - Robby Thigpen, C-N