Indian ace Brandon Petty named to All-South Atlantic Conference first team
Wednesday, April 18, 2007 | by Junior right-hander was 6-2 during the regular season

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Newberry College right-handed pitcher Brandon Petty was named first team All-South Atlantic Conference in a release from the conference office on Wednesday morning. Petty, a 6-2 210-pound junior from Melbourne, Fla., finished the regular season 6-2 in 14 appearances, 13 of which were starts. In 96 innings Petty accumulated 68 strikeouts which ranks 21st in the entire nation. The 96 innings pitched is a Newberry baseball record for most innings pitched in a season.

Petty pitched six complete games, had a 2.53 earned run average, and opponents hit just .248 against the right-handed hurler. Currently, Petty has gone 24.1 innings without allowing an earned run.

All-conference selections are voted on by the head coaches in the South Atlantic Conference.

In the final individual statistic rankings, junior right-hander Stephen Byrd led the conference in wins with eight. The Vero Beach, Fla. native finished the season 8-2 with a 4.79 ERA and 33 strikeouts in 67.2 innings. Byrd appeared in 11 games for Newberry, starting eight and notching one complete game.


Catcher – Dallas Tarleton, Lenoir-Rhyne *

Catcher – Christian Rosa Tusculum *

Pitcher – Brandon Petty, Newberry

Pitcher – Kevin Hammons, Tusculum

Pitcher – C.J. Hillyer, Tusculum

1st base – Zach Evans, Catawba

2nd base – Maikol Gonzalez, Tusculum

Shortstop – Taylor MacCurdy, Lenoir-Rhyne

3rd base – Paul Finger, Tusculum

Outfield – David Thomas, Catawba

Outfield – Jerry Sands, Catawba

Outfield – Carlos Rivera, Tusculum

Designated Hitter – Josh Benton, Wingate


Pitcher – Matt Teague, Carson-Newman

Pitcher – Cole Draughn, Carson-Newman

Pitcher – Mat Galens, Tusculum

1st base – Dustin Morrow, Tusculum

2nd base – Derek Treece, Lincoln Memorial

Shortstop – Michael Parker, Wingate

3rd base – Nick Achberger, Carson-Newman *

3rd base – Craig Lyerly, Catawba *

Outfield – Jordan Ackley, Lenoir-Rhyne

Outfield – TeWayne Willis, Lincoln Memorial

Outfield – Matt Webb, Tusculum

Designated Hitter – Casey Sedley, Lincoln Memorial

* tie

COACH OF THE YEAR – Doug Jones, Tusculum

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Justin Crowell, Lenoir-Rhyne

PITCHER OF THE YEAR – Kevin Hammons, Tusculum

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Maikol Gonzalez, Tusculum

SCHOLAR-ATHLETE – Brandon Burchfield, Carson-Newman



Maikol Gonzalez, Tusculum, Batting Avg., 446; On-Base Pct, .512; Triples Per Game, 0.29

Derek Treece, Lincoln Memorial, RBIs Per Game, 1.31

Jerry Sands, Catawba, Slugging Pct., .757; Homers Per Game, .40; Runs Scored Per Game, 1.29;

TeWayne Willis, Lincoln Memorial, Stolen Bases Per Game, .81

Kevin Hammons, Tusculum , Earned Run Average, 2.31

Stephen Byrd, Newberry, Pitching Victories, 8

Mark Carroll, Carson-Newman, 7; Josh Keller, Lenoir-Rhyne, 7

Casey Sedley, Lincoln Memorial, Strikeouts Per Game, 9.50

Tusculum College – Batting Avg., .345; Stolen Bases Per Game, 2.14; Triples Per Game, 0.80; Earned Run Average, 2.69; Strikeouts Per Game, 8.43

Catawba College – Slugging Pct., .539; On-Base Pct., .418; Runs Per Game, 8.56; Doubles Per Game, 2.40; Homers Per Game, 1.49; RBIs Per Game, 7.67;