Indians Baseball set to begin 2006 Road Warriors campaign
Monday, January 30, 2006 | by First pitch for Newberry set for 4 p.m. Wednesday at USC Upstate

NEWBERRY, S.C. – The first collegiate baseball team formed in the state of South Carolina begins yet another chapter in its storied history Wednesday as the Newberry Indians will take the field, starting off the season with a 4 p.m. game at USC Upstate. The 107th installment of the Newberry Indians features a promising future built upon a solid past and a new and invigorated coaching staff ready to lead the Indians to victory.

Head coach Bob Rikeman joins the Indians family from Rollins College, where he was head coach of the Tars for 11 season. Rikeman brings to Newberry with him a 384-240 career record and desire to win. Along with Rikeman, assistant coaches Brian Boeshko, Charlie Goens and Justin Varitek arrive in Newberry set to turn the Indians into a regional and national power.

Rikeman & Co. inherit a 2005 squad that had difficulties throughout the 2005 season, amassing a 19-35 record. The near future looks bright as the 2006 Indians are picked to finish sixth in the South Atlantic Conference.

The new-look Indians feature a tough 2006 schedule that gives the team the moniker “The Road Warriors” due to the transition in baseball stadiums as construction on the Indians’ new home has begun. Due to stadium construction, the Indians will only be able to play four games this season at home with all four games to be held at the baseball complex at Newberry High School.

Follow all of the 2006 Newberry Indians Baseball action at

Place/School               Pts.
1. Tusuclum College (6)    62
2. Catawba College (2)     54
3. Carson-Newman College   49
4. Wingate University      31
5. Lenoir-Rhyne College    28
6. Newberry College        23
7. Presbyterian College    22
8. Mars Hill College       19


Catcher- Matt Smith, Catawba
Pitcher- Kenny Lewis, Tusculum
Pitcher, Mark Smith, Catawba
Pitcher, Brent Gable, Tusculum
1st base- Aaron Rimer, Catawba
2nd base- Tim Brown, Tusculum
Shortstop- Taylor MacCurdy, Lenoir-Rhyne
3rd base- Skip Talarek, Tusculum
Outfield- John Pugh, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield- Matt Wiley, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield- Josh Wolff, Tusculum
Designated hitter- Jimbo Davis, Catawba

Catcher- John Verdinek, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher- Matt Teague, Carson-Newman
Pitcher- Jesse Jordan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher- Wes Hill, Tusculum
1st base- Derrick Calkin, Carson-Newman
2nd base- Evan Sowell, Presbyterian
Shortstop- Greg Stotser, Tusculum
3rd base- Matt Brodie, Presbyterian
Outfield- Brandon Burchfield, Carson-Newman
Outfield- Matt Riggs, Tusculum
Outfield- Matt Russell, Mars Hill
Designated hitter- Jay Barnes, Wingate