Default Hall of Fame
Clyde Agnew, Jr.
Bobby Bailey
Ralph Baker
Peggy Lynn Barnes
R.E. Beck
Heath Benedict
Charles Berry
Stanley Bessinger
Ed Blanko
Bryant Blanton
J.C. "Fox" Boozer
Johnny Bouknight
D.D Boyd
Danny Brabham
E.W. "Red" Burnette
Edward Cappola
Tiffany Johnson Chaplin
Reed Charpia
Jimmie Coggins
Dominick ColAngelo
Charles Coles
Scott Conant
Timothy Cook
E.B. "Buddy" Corley
Tom Crump
Barbara Davis
Murray Davis
Paul Davis
Paul Kiffin DeBruhl
Nick DePrim
Joel Derketsch
Brandon Downey
Max Dubose
William "Bill" Dukes
Dr. C.A. Dufford, Jr.
Tyler Dufford
Thomas A. "Bucko" Edens Jr.
Robert G. Edwards
Harry "Flick" Eleazer
Marvin English
Voight Epting
Jeanette Ergle
Angie Follweiler Smith
Saylor Fox
Tonique Frasier
Todd Frazier
Charles Gallagher
Don Garrick
Vic Gilmore
Jeffrey Godbee
Neild Gordon
Thomas R. Gorman
Jacques Gilliam
Larry Graves
Bobby Griffin
Keeno Griffin
Fred Haley
John "Bumps" Harrison
Gregory Hartle
Cyril Havird
Roger Hazel
Stephanie Hemann Fox
Fred Herren
Roy Edward Hewey
Howard "Sack" Holt
David Horton
John "Sug" Horton
Dr. John Hudgens
Brandon Hughes
Cyril "Cyke" Hutchinson
James W. Ingram
William Conely Jumper
Alex Kellner
Thomas G. "Jack" Kinard
Moses King
Harvey Kirkland
Rick Ladimir
Merle Lambeth
William Lambeth
W.L. Laval
Herbert Lee
Marion "Bull" Lee
James A. Lowder
E. Woody Lucas Sr.
Wallace "Red" Lynch
Fred MacLean
Raphael Masters Jr.
William John "Bill" Matasy
Ralph Henry Mathews
Keith McAlister
Olin McCurry
Chester McPhee
Tim Medlin
Pat Merrick
Tommy Miller
Clifford B. Morgan
Aubrey Mosley
Bill Murphy
Phillip Musgrave
Will Newell
Darryl Owings
Janet Parkman Jordan
Ken Pettus
Keath Porterfield
Charley Power
Kenneth Pressley
Tom Quinn
J. Morgan Randel
Grady L. Ray
Bill Rhiel
Walter A. Renken
Pickens "Pick" Riser
Lawrence Carl Rogers
Jesse George Rushe
David Sanders
Rick Sargent
Katey Satcher Felts
Dawson "Dusty" Scarborough
Bill Scarry
R. Nelson Schofield
Richard David Seastrunk
Hube Setzler
W. Frank Shealy
Lemuel Shealy
Carl Short
James H. "Jimmy" Skipper
John Smith
Phil Spotts
Stan Stanton
Carl Stegall
Josh Stepp
Charles Stoudemire
Dennis Swygert
Edward N. Taylor
George P. Taylor
Wyman Taylor
J. Edgar Thompson
Horace Turbeville
Cy Wainwright
Virgil Wallace
Rev. Harry Weber
Mark Weeks
Harold Wheeler
John Paul Whitaker
Jack Whitesides
Wallace E. "Hoot" Whitworth
Tom Williamson
Robert K. Wise
D.C. Henry "Hank" Witt
Tommie Witt
Inga Woiwode
Charles E. "Chuck" Wollet
Dennis Yarbrough
Tymere Zimmerman
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Hall of Fame

Reed Charpia

SPORTS Football, Baseball, Coach

Reed Charpia made his mark on the Newberry football program as both a player and a head coach. He lettered three seasons on the gridiron and was named Newberry’s Outstanding Back as a senior in 1964, leading the Indians in rushing, receiving, total offense, kick return yardage, and scoring. He also lettered four times in baseball, was named Who’s Who Among Students in America’s Colleges and Universities, and earned distinction with the Outstanding Young Men of America.

Charpia embarked on his coaching career immediately after graduation, making stops at Hanahan and Summerville High Schools as an assistant coach before landing his first head role at James Island High School. He piloted James Island to the 1974 3A state championship, then took Irmo to the 4A state title game and won a second straight state Coach of the Year award a year later.

In 1978, Charpia returned to his alma mater and was named Coach of the Year in both the SAC-8 and NAIA District 6 in his first year at the helm. Charpia took over a program that had finished 2-7-1 and tied for last place in the league the season before and coached them to a 7-3 finish and third-place finish in the SAC-8. He coached the Indians for four seasons in all, winning 21 games en route to becoming the first Newberry coach since 1916 to finish his career with a winning record.

Charpia went on to four more head coaching roles in South Carolina high schools, winning two additional state Coach of the Year honors and earning head coaching appointments at both the Shrine Bowl and North-South All-Star Game. He retired from head coaching following the 2010 season to work under his son, Rusty, on the Brookland-Cayce High School staff. He is known as one of South Carolina’s most successful coaches, winning 235 games in 34 years in the high school ranks.