Default Hall of Fame
Clyde Agnew, Jr.
Bobby Bailey
Ralph Baker
Peggy Lynn Barnes
R.E. Beck
Heath Benedict
Charles Berry
Stanley Bessinger
Ed Blanko
Bryant Blanton
J.C. "Fox" Boozer
Johnny Bouknight
D.D Boyd
Danny Brabham
E.W. "Red" Burnette
Edward Cappola
Tiffany Johnson Chaplin
Reed Charpia
Jimmie Coggins
Dominick ColAngelo
Charles Coles
Scott Conant
Timothy Cook
E.B. "Buddy" Corley
Tom Crump
Barbara Davis
Murray Davis
Paul Davis
Paul Kiffin DeBruhl
Nick DePrim
Joel Derketsch
Brandon Downey
Max Dubose
William "Bill" Dukes
Dr. C.A. Dufford, Jr.
Tyler Dufford
Thomas A. "Bucko" Edens Jr.
Robert G. Edwards
Harry "Flick" Eleazer
Marvin English
Voight Epting
Jeanette Ergle
Angie Follweiler Smith
Saylor Fox
Tonique Frasier
Todd Frazier
Charles Gallagher
Don Garrick
Vic Gilmore
Jeffrey Godbee
Neild Gordon
Thomas R. Gorman
Jacques Gilliam
Larry Graves
Bobby Griffin
Keeno Griffin
Fred Haley
John "Bumps" Harrison
Gregory Hartle
Cyril Havird
Roger Hazel
Stephanie Hemann Fox
Fred Herren
Roy Edward Hewey
Howard "Sack" Holt
David Horton
John "Sug" Horton
Dr. John Hudgens
Brandon Hughes
Cyril "Cyke" Hutchinson
James W. Ingram
William Conely Jumper
Alex Kellner
Thomas G. "Jack" Kinard
Moses King
Harvey Kirkland
Rick Ladimir
Merle Lambeth
William Lambeth
W.L. Laval
Herbert Lee
Marion "Bull" Lee
James A. Lowder
E. Woody Lucas Sr.
Wallace "Red" Lynch
Fred MacLean
Raphael Masters Jr.
William John "Bill" Matasy
Ralph Henry Mathews
Keith McAlister
Olin McCurry
Chester McPhee
Tim Medlin
Pat Merrick
Tommy Miller
Clifford B. Morgan
Aubrey Mosley
Bill Murphy
Phillip Musgrave
Will Newell
Darryl Owings
Janet Parkman Jordan
Ken Pettus
Keath Porterfield
Charley Power
Kenneth Pressley
Tom Quinn
J. Morgan Randel
Grady L. Ray
Bill Rhiel
Walter A. Renken
Pickens "Pick" Riser
Lawrence Carl Rogers
Jesse George Rushe
David Sanders
Rick Sargent
Katey Satcher Felts
Dawson "Dusty" Scarborough
Bill Scarry
R. Nelson Schofield
Richard David Seastrunk
Hube Setzler
W. Frank Shealy
Lemuel Shealy
Carl Short
James H. "Jimmy" Skipper
John Smith
Phil Spotts
Stan Stanton
Carl Stegall
Josh Stepp
Charles Stoudemire
Dennis Swygert
Edward N. Taylor
George P. Taylor
Wyman Taylor
J. Edgar Thompson
Horace Turbeville
Cy Wainwright
Virgil Wallace
Rev. Harry Weber
Mark Weeks
Harold Wheeler
John Paul Whitaker
Jack Whitesides
Wallace E. "Hoot" Whitworth
Tom Williamson
Robert K. Wise
D.C. Henry "Hank" Witt
Tommie Witt
Inga Woiwode
Charles E. "Chuck" Wollet
Dennis Yarbrough
Tymere Zimmerman
Full Roster
Full Roster
Full Roster
Hall of Fame

W.L. Laval


Born in Columbia, S.C., in 1885, coach William L. “Billy” Laval was one of the most legendary coaches in the history of collegiate athletics in the state of South Carolina.

He began his coaching career at the age of 18 at Erskine and then went on to pitch for the Furman baseball team from 1904-05. He then went on to play minor league baseball, playing for 10 teams with a .253 batting average and a 42-37 pitching record, playing with many notable players including Shoeless Joe Jackson.

Laval continued to coach college teams while playing minor league baseball. His college coaching resume includes Erskine (1903 and 1905), Sewanee College (1904), Furman (1908, 1912-1927), University of South Carolina (1928-34), Emory and Henry College (1936-37) and Newberry College (1938-50).

Laval came to Newberry in 1938 to coach football, basketball and baseball. As the head football coach he compiled a 45-61-5 record for a .428 winning percentage. Six of his players were named All-Americans with one all-state player. The 1940 team was the Little Four champions and he was at the helm for the program’s 100th victory over Presbyterian on November 27, 1947.

Laval also served as the head men’s basketball coach, earning a career record of 68-91 in 10 seasons.

He also left his mark as the head baseball coach with a career record of 147-67-1 in 12 seasons. Laval’s baseball teams became known for earning victories over the New York Yankees. Each spring as the Yankees’ traveling team was making its way from Florida back to New York City, the team would stop to take on Newberry Colege. Laval’s team would come out victorious over the Yankees every time.
During his time at Newberry, Coach Laval was referred to as the “Ole Man”. Laval retired from coaching in 1950, returning to Columbia to work and be with family.

In The State newspaper in November 2009, columnist Ron Morris said “Laval earned the right to be called the greatest collegiate coach in South Carolina athletics history. We’re talking about the entire state to include all the best coaches over the years at any level, from Erskine to Clemson, from Charleston Southern to College of Charleston.”